Skip To Content

01 March 2022

Optica names 20 recipients for 2022 awards and medals

WASHINGTON—Optica is pleased to announce the recipients of several of its 2022 awards and medals. These awards celebrate the people who have achieved significant technical, research, education, business, leadership and service accomplishments across optics and photonics.

"The 2022 Optica award and medal recipients have made outstanding contributions to our field, and I would like to congratulate all the winners," said Satoshi Kawata, Optica’s President. "In addition, my thanks to the dedicated selection committee volunteers, nominators, and references."

The 2022 recipients are:

Esther Hoffman Beller Medal
Julie Bentley, University of Rochester, USA
For her central role in shaping the optics education of countless undergraduate and graduate students

Max Born Award
Yuri Kivshar, Australian National University, Australia
For pioneering and ground-breaking research in nonlinear metamaterials and all-dielectric resonant metaphotonics that derives unique optical functionalities from electric and magnetic dipolar and multipolar Mie-type resonances underpinning new discoveries in nonlinear and topological nanophotonics

Stephen D. Fantone Distinguished Service Award
Joseph A. Izatt, Duke University, USA
For over 25 years of outstanding service to the optics community and Optica in areas as diverse as publications, conferences, strategic planning, and the Optica Board of Directors

Michael S. Feld Biophotonics Award
Valentina Emiliani, Vision Institute, CNRS, France
For pioneering research on wavefront engineering in neurophotonics, which enabled the selective control of individual neurons in the intact brain using light and optogenetics, and initiated the era of all-optical brain control

Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize
Aydogan Ozcan, University of California Los Angeles, USA
For seminal optical engineering contributions to computational optical imaging, lensfree microscopy, holography and mobile optical sensing 

The Joseph W. Goodman Book Writing Award (presented with SPIE)
Paul F. McManamon, Exciting Technology LLC and University of Dayton, USA
For his book, "LiDAR Technologies and Systems"

Nick Holonyak Jr. Award
Marshall Nathan, IBM TJ Watson Research Center and University of Minnesota, USA
For his pioneering work in creating GaAs diode lasers and inventive contributions to compound semiconductors and laser physics 

Robert E. Hopkins Leadership Award
Andrea Armani, University of Southern California, USA
For leadership in promoting online platforms for disseminating science and educational programs, thereby reducing barriers for early career researchers and increasing mentoring opportunities worldwide

Edwin H. Land Medal (Presented with Society for Imaging Science and Technology)
Shin-Tson Wu, University of Central Florida, USA
For contributions to novel displays and diffractive optics that led to commercial products and widespread applications, especially for augmented reality, virtual reality, and imaging devices

Sang Soo Lee Award (Presented with the Optical Society of Korea)
Andrew Forbes, University of Witwatersrand, South Africa
For advancing photonics in South Africa through strategic leadership in executing national photonics programmes, high-impact research and education, and mentorship of African researchers

Emmett N. Leith Medal
Min Gu, University of Shanghai for Science and Technology, China
For outstanding contributions to nanoscale optical information technology by extending the limit of optical data storage, holography and display through multi-dimensional division including optical orbital angular momentum and vectorial domains

Ellis R. Lippincott Award (Presented with the Coblentz Society and the Society for Applied Spectroscopy)
Martin Zanni, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
For innovative contributions to the technology and application of two-dimensional infrared spectroscopy

Adolph Lomb Medal
Ido Kaminer, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
For pioneering contributions which led to the creation of a paradigm shift in light-matter interactions of photonic quasiparticles

C.E.K. Mees Medal
Norbert F. Scherer, University of Chicago, USA
For seminal contributions to optical science by developing novel methods and applications in ultrafast nonlinear spectroscopy, single molecule microscopy, nanoplasmonics, optical vector beam spectroscopy, and optical trapping, optical matter and nano-machines 

William F. Meggers Award
Michael D. Fayer, Stanford University, USA
For seminal developments in ultrafast nonlinear spectroscopy, which have heavily influenced the chemical physics spectroscopy landscape

David Richardson Medal
Jim Tatum, Dallas Quantum Devices, USA
For significant contributions to the development and commercialization of VCSEL technology

Kevin P. Thompson Optical Design Innovator Award
Heejoo Choi, University of Arizona, USA
For innovative design of a UV cross-dispersion space telescope and engineering of a laser-truss Large Binocular Telescope metrology system

Edgar D. Tillyer Award
Mary Hayhoe, University of Texas at Austin, USA
For outstanding contributions to our understanding of visual perception and cognition in natural tasks through the innovative use of technology for recording eye, head, limb, and body position in both natural and virtual environments

Charles Hard Townes Medal
Girish S Agarwal, Texas A&M University, USA
For discoveries in theoretical quantum optics especially vacuum induced coherences, photon added coherent states, non-classical cat states for qubits via engineered many body interactions, and transparency in optomechanical systems

R. W. Wood Prize
Shanhui Fan, Stanford University, USA
For foundational discoveries in photonics, ranging from resonator, topological, and non-reciprocal photonics to energy applications including the discovery of daytime radiative cooling based on a new kind of energy source

About Optica

Optica (formerly OSA), Advancing Optics and Photonics Worldwide, is the society dedicated to promoting the generation, application, archiving and dissemination of knowledge in the field. Founded in 1916, it is the leading organization for scientists, engineers, business professionals, students and others interested in the science of light. Optica’s renowned publications, meetings, online resources and in-person activities fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate scientific, technical and educational achievement. Discover more at:

Media Contact

Image for keeping the session alive