Skip To Content

17 February 2020

The Optical Society Names G. Michael Morris the 2020 David Richardson Medal Recipient

Past OSA President honored for entrepreneurship and advances in applied optics

WASHINGTON—The Optical Society (OSA) is pleased to name G. Michael Morris, RPC Photonics, Inc. & Apollo Optical Systems, Inc., USA, winner of the 2020 David Richardson Medal. Morris is recognized for contributions to the commercial development of diffractive and beam shaping optics, along with significant achievements in entrepreneurship, the founding and development of two highly successful companies, and ongoing support of education in optical engineering.

“The David Richardson Medal recognizes Michael Morris’ significant accomplishments in applied optics with the development of diffractive and beam shaping optics,” said 2020 OSA President Stephen D. Fantone, founder and president of the Optikos Corporation. “As an entrepreneur, Michael has laid the groundwork for others to chart similar paths in optical engineering.”

G. Michael Morris received his BS degree from the University of Oklahoma, USA and his MS and Ph.D. degrees from the California Institute of Technology, USA. He was the CEO and co-founder of RPC Photonics (RPC) and is presently serving as the CEO of Apollo Optical Systems (AOS). Prior to RPC and AOS, he was a Professor of Optics at The Institute of Optics, University of Rochester, USA. He is an OSA Fellow, and recipient of the OSA Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize and Stephen D. Fantone Distinguished Service Award. He served as OSA President in 2003, and President of the OSA Foundation from 2009 – 2015.

Morris’s research has spanned a wide variety of topics in statistical optics, optical information processing, quantum-limited imaging, automatic pattern recognition, and diffractive- and micro-optics technology.  His current research/development interests include optical beam-shaping components with a particular emphasis on 3D imaging and sensing systems for consumer electronics, robot vision, autonomous vehicles, and surveillance markets.  He holds over 30 U.S. patents, and has published more than 70 referred journal articles, three book chapters, and numerous conference proceedings.

Established in 1966, the David Richardson Medal recognizes significant contributions to optical engineering, primarily in the commercial and industrial sector, and honors David Richardson’s unique contributions to applied optics. The award is endowed by Cary Instruments and Gary Duck.

About The Optical Society

The Optical Society (OSA) is dedicated to promoting the generation, application, archiving, and dissemination of knowledge in optics and photonics worldwide. Founded in 1916, it is the leading organization for scientists, engineers, business professionals, students, and others interested in the science of light. OSA’s renowned publications, meetings, online resources, and in-person activities fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate scientific, technical, and educational achievement.

Media Contact

Image for keeping the session alive