Lyndsay Meyer
The Optical Society

Four OSA Fellows Elected to National Academy of Engineering

WASHINGTON, Feb. 7, 2014—Four Fellow Members of The Optical Society (OSA) were named new members of the U.S. National Academy of Engineering (NAE) this week.  Being elected to the NAE is one of the highest professional honors in the engineering community. The four OSA Fellows were among the 67 new members and 11 foreign associates elected by the NAE this year.
Harrison H. Barrett of the University of Arizona was recognized for contributions to the physical and statistical foundations and applications of radiological and nuclear medical imaging.
J. Gary Eden of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign was nominated for the development and commercialization of micro-plasma technologies and excimer lasers.
Naomi Halas of Rice University was selected for nanoscale engineering of optical resonances and lineshapes.
Frederick A. Kish Jr. of Infinera Corp. was recognized for contributions to high-brightness light-emitting diodes.

According to the NAE, Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature," and to the "pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."
About OSA
Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional society for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries, shape real-world applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership programs, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of professionals in optics and photonics. For more information, visit