Skip To Content

Outstanding Student Researchers Honored at Frontiers in Optics 2012

02 November 2012

Outstanding Student Researchers Honored at Frontiers in Optics 2012


Lyndsay Meyer
The Optical Society

Outstanding Student Researchers Honored at Frontiers in Optics 2012

WASHINGTON, Nov. 2, 2012 – The OSA Foundation (OSAF) is pleased to announce the most recent student grant and scholarship recipients, recognized during the Optical Society’s (OSA) 96th Annual Meeting, Frontiers in Optics (FiO) 2012 in Rochester, N.Y. Winners were announced for five OSAF programs: The Emil Wolf Outstanding Student Paper Competition, the Jean Bennett Memorial Student Travel Grant, the Robert S. Hilbert Memorial Student Travel Grants, the Harvey M. Pollicove Memorial Scholarship, and the OSA Foundation Student Travel Grants.
“Frontiers in Optics brings together the leading optics researchers from around the globe, and these 13 students are no exception,” said OSAF Chair Michael Morris. “These talented young researchers showcase the great things we can expect from the next generation of optical science industry leaders and FiO is the perfect venue to call attention to their hard work and accomplishments.”
Emil Wolf Outstanding Student Paper Competition
Seven students were named Emil Wolf Outstanding Student Paper Competition winners. Established in 2008, the competition was created in honor of Professor Emil Wolf’s many contributions to science and OSA. The competition recognizes the innovation and excellence of student research presented at FiO. Each technical subcommittee can select one winner based on their presentation during the meeting. The competition is sponsored by the Elsevier publication Optics Communications, with additional support provided by Physical Optical Corporation, the University of Rochester Physics Department, the Institute of Optics, and individual contributions. Winners receive a complimentary one-year OSA student membership, and award stipend and a certificate.
The winners recognized at FiO 2012 were:
FiO 1: Optical Design and Instrumentation
Drake Cannan, San Francisco State University, USA
Paper Title: Demonstration of Nonparaxial Beams Self-bending Along Circular Trajectories
FiO 2: Optical Sciences
David Wu, University of Southampton, UK
Paper Title: Phase Noise and Jitter Characterization of Pulses Generated by Optical Injection Locking to an Optical Frequency Comb
FiO 3: Optics in Biology and Medicine
Jong-ryul Choi, Yonsei University, South Korea
Paper Title: Investigation of 3-D cell-based Assays with Structured Illumination Using a Digital Micromirror Device
FiO 4: Optics in Information Science
Mehul Malik, University of Rochester, USA
Paper Title: Secure Quantum LIDAR
FiO 5: Fiber Optics and Optical Communications
Lan Liu, University of California San Diego, USA
Paper Title: Generation and Characterization of Self-Phase-Modulation Based Cavity-Less Pulse Source
FiO 6: Integrated Optics
Wei Jiang, University of Rochester, USA
Paper Title: A High-Frequency Silicon Optomechanical Oscillator with an Ultralow Threshold
FiO 7: Quantum Electronics
No winner selected.
FiO 8: Vision and Color
Robin Sharma, University of Rochester, Institute of Optics, USA
Paper Title: Tunable Achromatizing Lens for the Mouse Eye

Jean Bennett Memorial Student Travel Grant
Emma Wisniewski-Barker of the University of Glasgow in Scotland was awarded the 2012 Jean Bennett Memorial Student Travel Grant. The grant provided a stipend to cover travel expenses to FiO. The program was established in memory of Jean M. Bennett, a highly decorated research physicist renowned for her contributions to the studies of optical surfaces and who served as OSA’s first female president. It is made possible through the support of Nanoptek Corporation, the Pennsylvania State University Department of Physics, and individual contributors.
Robert S. Hilbert Memorial Student Travel Grants
Benjamin Alonso of the University of Salamanca in Spain was awarded the 2012 FiO Robert S. Hilbert Memorial Student Travel Grant. This program was established in 2009 by Optical Research Associates (now the Optical Solutions Group at Synopsys), as a memorial to their former president and CEO Robert S. Hilbert. The grants, which provide a stipend to cover travel expenses to FiO, are awarded to students conducting outstanding research in the areas of optical engineering, lens design, and illumination design.
Harvey M. Pollicove Memorial Scholarship
Peter McCarthy of the University of Rochester was awarded the Harvey M. Pollicove Memorial Scholarship. The scholarship was established in 2008 through contributions from Harvey Pollicove’s friends and colleagues to recognize his work in the field of precision optics manufacturing. The monetary award is given to a student pursuing a degree in the field of precision optics manufacturing and rotates among four institutions: the University of Rochester, the University of Arizona, the University of Central Florida, and Monroe Community College in New York.
OSA Foundation Student Travel Grants
OSAF offers travel grants to students from qualifying developing nations, to help off-set the costs of attending FiO. Applicants for travel grants must be working or studying in a qualifying developing nation, be enrolled in an accredited undergraduate or graduate program, demonstrate need for travel support, and submit a written statement on the value of attending the conference. Travel grants average $1,000 per award.
The recipients for FiO 2012 were:
Alejandro Espinsosa-Calderon, Autonomous University of Queretaro, Mexico
Emerson Barbano, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Idelma Terra, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil
Igor Iatsunskyi, Odessa I.I. Mechnikov National University, Ukraine
Jasleen Lugani, Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi, India
Jun-Hui Li, Peking University, China
Lucien Mandeng, University of Yaounde I, Cameroon
Marta Overchuck, Ivan Franko National University of Lviv, Ukraine
Natalia únera Ortiz, National University of Colombia, Medellin, Colombia
Regina Alves, University of Sao Paolo, Brazil

About the OSA Foundation

The OSA Foundation, created in 2002, is dedicated to supporting programs that advance science education, offer career and professional development resources, and recognize technical and business excellence. Contributions to the Foundation, a tax-exempt organization under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code, are deductible as provided by law. All donors receive special recognition and acknowledgements, unless they request to be anonymous. Donations to the OSA Foundation are matched dollar-for-dollar by the Optical Society through its donation to the OSA Foundation annual fund, so your gift makes twice the difference. For more information, please visit, follow us on Facebook or contact the OSA development staff via telephone: 202.416.1434; or e-mail:

About the Meeting

Frontiers in Optics (FiO) 2012 is the Optical Society’s (OSA) 96th Annual Meeting and is being held together with Laser Science XXVIII, the annual meeting of the American Physical Society (APS) Division of Laser Science (DLS). The two meetings unite the OSA and APS communities for five days of quality, cutting-edge presentations, fascinating invited speakers and a variety of special events spanning a broad range of topics in optics and photonics—the science of light—across the disciplines of physics, biology and chemistry. FiO 2012 will also offer a number of Short Courses designed to increase participants’ knowledge of a specific subject in the optical sciences while offering the experience of insightful teachers. An exhibit floor featuring leading optics companies will further enhance the meeting. More information at



Image for keeping the session alive