22 October 2018

The Optical Society Announces 2019 Fellows Class

WASHINGTON – The Optical Society (OSA) Board of Directors has elected 98 members to the Society’s 2019 Fellows Class. Principal factors for election to OSA Fellow include candidates’ achievements in business leadership, education, research, engineering and service. A majority of 2019 Fellows reside outside of the USA.

“Being named an OSA Fellow is an honor accorded to those of rare distinction in their field, and carries the responsibility of service to and leadership of the optics and photonics communities” said OSA President Ian Walmsley. “I congratulate the 2019 class on their achievements.”

OSA Fellows are members who have served with distinction in the advancement of optics and photonics. The OSA Fellow Members Committee, led by Ingmar Hartl of DESY, Germany, reviewed nominations submitted by current OSA Fellows and recommended 2019 candidates to the Awards Council and OSA Board of Directors. No more than 10 percent of the total OSA membership may be Fellows at any given time, making each year’s honorees a highly selective group.

“The OSA Fellow Members Committee has been successful at expanding the level and type of achievements that factor into qualifying for this distinction,” said CEO Elizabeth Rogan. “The 2019 Fellows Class reflect a diverse and inclusive representation of OSA’s growing membership.

The new Fellows will be honored at OSA conferences and meetings throughout 2019.

2019 OSA Fellows Class Members

Geoffrey K. Aguirre, University of Pennsylvania, USA

Eugene G. Arthurs, USA

Saša Bajt, Deutsches Elektronen-Synchrotron (DESY), Germany

Martin S. Banks, University of California Berkeley, USA

Jiming Bao, University of Houston, USA

Alexey Belyanin, Texas A&M University, USA

Pierre Berini, University of Ottawa, Canada

Karsten Buse, Fraunhofer Institute for Physical Measurement Techniques IPM and University of Freiburg, Germany

Paul Campagnola, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Ji-Xin Cheng, Boston University, USA

Richard N. Claytor, Fresnel Technologies Inc, USA

Nadir Dagli, University of California Santa Barbara, USA

Judith Dawes, Macquarie University, Australia

Jay W. Dawson, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA

Hui Deng, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, USA

Shengwang Du, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong

Daniele Faccio, University of Glasgow, United Kingdom

Liang Feng, University of Pennsylvania, USA

Steve Frisken, Cylite and Finisar Australia, Australia

Peter Fritschel, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

Yun Fu, Northeastern University, USA

Lukas Gallman, ETH Zurich, Switzerland

Enrique J. Galvez, Colgate University, USA

Mircea Guina, Tampere University of Technology, Tampere, Finland

Kiichi Hamamoto, Kyushu University, Japan

Tayyaba Hasan, Wellman Center for Photomedicine, Massachusetts General Hospital, Harvard Medical School, USA

Jr-Hau He, King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Saudi Arabia

Markus Hehlen, Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA

Roger Helkey, University of California Santa Barbara, USA

Amr S. Helmy, University of Toronto, Canada

Ronald Holzwarth, Menlo Systems GmbH, Germany

Hong Hua, University of Arizona, USA

Sheng-Lung Huang, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

Yidong Huang, Tsinghua University, China

Rupert Huber, University of Regensburg, Germany

Richard A. Hutchin, Optical Physics Company, USA

M. Saif Islam, University of California Davis, USA

Yoonchan Jeong, Seoul National University, South Korea

Animesh Jha, Faculty of Engineering, University of Leeds, United Kingdom

Lan Jiang, Beijing Institute of Technology, China

Ebrahim Karimi, University of Ottawa, Canada

Mackillo Kira, University of Michigan, USA

Anders Kristensen, Danmarks Tekniske Universitet, Denmark

Kei May Lau, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong

Zhongping Lee, University of Massachusetts Boston, USA

Uli Lemmer, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany

Christina Lim, University of Melbourne, Australia

Qiang Lin, University of Rochester, USA

Wenhua Lin, Intel Corporation, USA

Hoi-Kwong Lo, University of Toronto, Canada

Xiangang Luo, Institute of Optics and Electronics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China

Yi Luo, Tsinghua University, China

Marjatta Lyyra, Temple University, USA

Osamu Matoba, Kobe University, Japan

Anne Matsuura, Intel Corporation, USA

Ion N. Mihailescu, National Institute for Laser, Plasma and Radiation Physics, Romania

Richard Mildren, Macquarie University, Australia

Richard Mirin, National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA

Uwe Morgner, Leibniz Universität Hannover, Germany

Amy S. Mullin, University of Maryland at College Park, USA

Mauro Nisoli, Politecnico di Milano, Italy

Ellen Ochoa, NASA (retired), USA

Teri W. Odom, Northwestern University, USA

Roberto Osellame, CNR– Istituto di Fotonica e Nanotecnologie, Italy

Taiichi Otsuji, Tohoku University, Japan

Leif Oxenløwe, DTU Fotonik, Denmark

Ekmel Ozbay, Bilkent Universitesi, Turkey

Francesco Saverio Pavone, University of Florence, Italy

Cheng-Zhi Peng, University of Science and Technology of China, China

Nathalie Picqué, Max-Planck Institute of Quantum Optics, Germany

Pierluigi Poggiolini, Politecnico di Torino, Italy

Sergei Popov, Department of Applied Physics, School of Engineering Sciences, Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Sweden

Geoff Pryde, Griffith University, Australia

Kannan Raj, Oracle, USA

David A. Reis, Stanford University and SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, USA

Kent Rochford, SPIE, USA

Axel Schülzgen, University of Central Florida, USA

Shyh-Chiang Shen, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Concita Sibilia, Università degli Studi di Roma La Sapienza, Dept. of Basic and Applied Science, Italy

Daniel Sigg, LIGO Hanford Observatory, USA

Christine Silberhorn, Universität Paderborn, Germany

Cesare Soci, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

Adrian Stern, Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Israel

Tayyab Suratwala, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA

Guillermo J. Tearney, MD, PhD, Wellman Center for Photomedicine and Department of Pathology, Massachusetts General Hospital, USA

Laura Waller, University of California Berkeley, USA

Sean Wang, B&W TEK Inc, USA

Daniel Wasserman, University of Texas at Austin, USA

Kenny Weir, Imperial College London, United Kingdom

Lorne Whitehead, University of British Columbia, Canada

Edward A. Whittaker, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA

Ming C. Wu, University of California Berkeley, USA

Yun-Feng Xiao, Peking University, China

Martin Zanni, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA

Song Zhang, Purdue University, USA

Weiping Zhang, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China

Yan Zhang, Capital Normal University, China

Lei Zhou, Fudan University, China

About The Optical Society

Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and entrepreneurs who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts. For more information, visit: osa.org.

Media Contact: