12 December 2017

The Optical Society Congratulates 20 Members Elected as 2017 National Academy of Inventors Fellows

WASHINGTON — The National Academy of Inventors (NAI) has elected 20 Members of The Optical Society with the rank of NAI Fellow on 12 December 2017.  This election brings the total number of NAI Fellows to 912, representing over 250 research universities and governmental and non-profit research institutes. The 2017 Fellows are named inventors on over 6,000 issued U.S. patents, bringing the collective number of U.S. issued patents held by all NAI Fellows to more than 32,000.

“Being elected as an NAI Fellow in an incredible honor that recognizes the innovative spirit and accomplishments of those that have made significant, positive impacts on economic development and our quality of life,” stated Elizabeth Rogan, CEO of The Optical Society. “OSA congratulates our 20 members elected as NAI Fellows and we look forward to their continued impact and contributions to society.”

“Those elected to the rank of NAI Fellow are named inventors on U.S. patents and were nominated by their peers for outstanding contributions to innovation in areas such as patents and licensing, innovative discovery and technology, significant impact on society, and support and enhancement of innovation,” said the NAI in a statement announcing this year’s Fellows.

The newly elected fellows will be recognized, and will be formally inducted, on 5 April 2018 at the Seventh Annual Conference of the National Academy of Inventors held in the Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection in Washington, D.C.

OSA Members Elected as 2017 NAI Fellows 
Samuel I. Achilefu, Washington University in St. Louis, USA
Vijayakumar Bhagavatula, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
Daniel J. Blumenthal, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA
Joseph A. Izatt, Duke University, USA
Brian L. Justus, U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA
Wayne H. Knox, University of Rochester, USA
Zhenqiang Ma, University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA
Laura Marcu, University of California, Davis, USA
Dennis W. Prather, University of Delaware, USA
Paul R. Prucnal, Princeton University, USA
Nirmala Ramanujam, Duke University, USA
Zeev Zalevsky, Bar-Ilan, Israel
Hiroshi Amano, Nagoya University, Japan
Donald Keck, University of South Florida, USA
Dennis Killinger, University of South Florida, USA
Shouleh Nikzad, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Terrence J. Sejnowski, Salk Institute for Biological Studies
Tuan Vo-Dinh, Duke University
Lorne A. Whitehead, University of British Columbia
Eli Yablonovitch, University of California, Berkely
*2017 NAI Fellows complete list: The National Academy of Inventors

About The Optical Society
Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts. For more information, visit osa.org.
Media Contacts: