Media Contact:
Brielle Day
The Optical Society
+1 202.416.1435

Seventy-two OSA Members Elevated to Rank of Fellow

WASHINGTON, Dec. 4, 2012—The Optical Society (OSA) Board of Directors is pleased to announce that 72 OSA Members have been elected as the newest class of OSA Fellow Members. Regular OSA Members who have significantly contributed to the advancement of optics and photonics are eligible for election to the rank of Fellow. A listing of all 72 new Fellow Members appears below.

OSA Fellows are selected based on their overall impact on optics, as gauged through factors such as specific scientific, engineering, and technological contributions, a record of significant publications or patents related to optics, technical leadership in the field, and service to OSA and the global optics community. Drawing from nominations from current Fellows, OSA’s Fellow Members Committee recommends candidates to the Board of Directors. This process is highly competitive, as the number of OSA Members recommended for election to Fellow each year is limited to less than 0.5 percent of the total OSA Membership.

“On behalf of OSA, it is my pleasure to congratulate the 2013 Fellows on this special recognition of their outstanding accomplishments,” said OSA President Tony Heinz. “These new Fellows, located across the globe, are making vital contributions to advancing optics and photonics worldwide.”

These distinguished Fellow Members will be recognized individually at meetings throughout 2013. More than 43 percent of this year’s Fellow Members reside outside of the United States. Specific information on each new Fellow Member’s accomplishments will be published in the February issue of Optics and Photonics News.

2013 OSA Fellow Members:

  • Thorsten Ackemann, University of Strathclyde, UK
  • Jacques Albert, Carleton University, Canada
  • Georges Boulon, Université Claude Bernard Lyon1, CNRS, France
  • Shoou-Jin Chang, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
  • Sabino Chavez-Cerda, Instituto Nacional de Astrofisica, Optica y Electronica, Mexico
  • Albert Chin, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
  • Jean Dalibard, Collège de France
  • John Dallesasse, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Andrew Dentai, Infinera Corporation, USA
  • Judith Donnelly, Three Rivers Community College, USA
  • David Erickson, Cornell University, USA
  • Ildar Gabitov, University of Arizona, USA
  • Philippe Grangier, Institut d’Optique, France
  • Katherine Hall, WiTricity Corporation, USA
  • Christoph Harder, Harder & Partner GmbH, Switzerland
  • Erez Hasman, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
  • Majeed M. Hayat, University of New Mexico, USA
  • Michael Heaven, Emory University, USA
  • Fred L. Heismann, JDSU Optical Networks Research Lab, USA
  • Christoph K. Hitzenberger, Medical University of Vienna, Austria
  • Paul W. Juodawlkis, MIT Lincoln Laboratory, USA
  • Saulius Juodkazis, Swinburne University of Technology, Australia
  • Martti Kauranen, Tampere University of Technology, Finland
  • Yoshimasa Kawata, Shizuoka University, Japan
  • Gerd Keiser, PhotonicsComm Solutions, USA
  • Ton (A. M. J.) Koonen, Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands
  • Makoto Kuwata-Gonokami, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Edmund Y. Lam, University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Alfred Leitenstorfer, Universitaet Konstanz, Germany
  • Xuelong Li, Xi’an Institute of Optics and Precision Mechanics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Christoph Lienau, University of Oldenburg, Germany
  • Yongfeng Lu, University of Nebraska Lincoln, USA
  • Andrey B. Matsko, OEwaves Inc., USA
  • Alastair McAulay, Lehigh University, USA
  • Stephen J. Mihailov, Canada
  • Dumitru Mihalache, National Institute of Physics and Nuclear Engineering, Romania
  • Howard M. Milchberg, University of Maryland, USA
  • Guy Millot, Université de Bourgogne, France
  • Hooman Mohseni, Northwestern University, USA
  • Shayan Mookherjea, University of California San Diego, USA
  • Keith A. Nelson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • Cun-Zheng Ning, Arizona State University, USA
  • Peter Nordlander, Rice University, USA
  • Willie J. Padilla, Boston College, USA
  • Krzysztof Patorski, Warsaw University of Technology, Poland
  • Stanley Pau, University of Arizona, USA
  • Brian W. Pogue, Dartmouth College, USA
  • Markus Pollnau, University of Twente, Netherlands
  • Alexander Popov, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point, USA
  • Jianan Y. Qu, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong
  • Azizur B. M. Rahman, City University London, UK
  • Stephen E. Ralph, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  • Markus B. Raschke, University of Colorado, USA
  • Monika Ritsch-Marte, Innsbruck Medical University, Austria
  • Gregory Raybon, Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs, USA
  • Sukesh Roy, Spectral Energies LLC, USA
  • David D. Sampson, University of Western Australia, Australia
  • Jasbinder Sanghera, Naval Research Laboratory, USA
  • Peter G. Schunemann, BAE Systems, USA
  • David Shepherd, University of Southampton, UK
  • Bruce Smith, Rochester Institute of Technology, USA
  • David R. Smith, Duke University, USA
  • Peter Smowton, Cardiff University, USA
  • Franky So, University of Florida, USA
  • Ioannis Tomkos, Athens Information Technology Center, Greece
  • Mariano Troccoli, AdTech Optics, USA
  • Ruikang K. Wang, University of Washington, USA
  • Warren S. Warren, Duke University, USA
  • Alice E. White, Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent, USA
  • Michael Wraback, U.S. Army Research Laboratories, USA
  • Tiejun Xia, Verizon Communications, USA
  • Yong-Hang Zhang, Arizona State University, USA


About OSA

Uniting more than 180,000 professionals from 175 countries, the Optical Society (OSA) brings together the global optics community through its programs and initiatives. Since 1916 OSA has worked to advance the common interests of the field, providing educational resources to the scientists, engineers and business leaders who work in the field by promoting the science of light and the advanced technologies made possible by optics and photonics. OSA publications, events, technical groups and programs foster optics knowledge and scientific collaboration among all those with an interest in optics and photonics. For more information, visit