Skip To Content
Joseph W. Goodman Book Writing Award

Information and deadlines for nominations

Learn more about the award and its establishment

View the members

Joseph W. Goodman Book Writing Award

Recognizes a recent and influential book in the field of optics and photonics that has contributed significantly to research, teaching, business or industry.

The award, presented in even-numbered years, was established in 2005 by Joseph W. and Hon Mai Goodman and is co-sponsored by Optica and SPIE.

Year Book and Authors

Introduction to Infrared and Electro-Optical Systems, Third Edition,Ronald G. Driggers, Melvin H. Friedman, John W. Devitt, Orges Furxhi, Anjali Singh

2022 LiDAR Technologies and Systems, Paul F. McManamon
2020 Quantitative Biomedical Optics: Theory, Methods, and Applications, Irving J. Bigio and Sergio Fantini
2018 Hyperspectral Remote Sensing, Michael T. Eismann
2016 Tissue Optics: Light Scattering Methods and Instruments for Medical Diagnosis, Third Edition, Valery V. Tuchin
2014 Optical Metamaterials: Fundamentals and Applications, Wenshan Cai and Vladimir Shalaev
2012 Lens Design Fundamentals, Second Edition,  Rudolf Kingslake and R. Barry Johnson
2010 Biomedical Optics: Principles and Imaging,  Lihong V. Wang and Hsin-i Wu
2008 Introduction to the Theory of Coherence and Polarization of Light, Emil Wolf
2006 Foundations of Image Science,  Harrison H. Barrett and Kyle J. Myers

In 2006, Honorable Mentions were selected: 

  • Nonlinear Fiber Optics, 3rd edition, G.P. Agrawal
  • Nonlinear Optics, 2nd edition, Robert W. Boyd
  • Optical Imaging and Aberrations, Part II. Wave Diffraction Optics, Virendra N. Mahajan
  • Classical Optics and Its Applications, Masud Mansuripur 
  • Modern Lens Design, Warren Smith


Image for keeping the session alive