Skip To Content

Technical Group Leadership Volunteers

Get Involved

Technical Group Leadership Election

Congratulations to the newly elected Technical Group leaders!

2024 Technical Group Leaders

Optica is pleased to announce the next leaders for thirteen of our technical groups. Optica Technical Groups are vibrant and active communities that connect Optica members with colleagues and leaders within specialized topic areas worldwide.

The selected individuals will serve as chair for a three-year term starting in January 2024. Elected by their fellow members, these individuals will be responsible for selecting an executive committee to collaborate with to foster a sense of community among the members of their group. Working together, they will organize special events featuring tailored programming, host webinars on hot topics, and share information on the latest developments in their field throughout their three-year terms.

The 2024 Technical Group Leaders are:

Microscopy and Optical Coherence Tomography

Aditi Sahu
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, United States



Allie Hexley
University of Oxford, United Kingdom



Amita Rawat
University of California, Davis, United States


Optical Communications

Anny Xijia Zheng
Google LLC, United States


Polarization Management and Propagation

Claire Cisowski
University of Glasgow, United Kingdom


Photonic Metamaterials

Haoran Ren
Monash University, Australia


Applications of Visual Science

Laura Young
University of Newcastle, United Kingdom


Nonlinear Optics

Lewis Hill
Max-Planck-Inst Physik des Lichts, Germany


Systems and Instrumentation

Manish Tiwari
Manipal University Jaipur, India


Optical Material Studies

Michael Coco
Veeco, Inc., United States


Optical Metrology

Raktim Haldar
Leibniz University Hannover, Germany


Optical Cooling and Trapping

Riccardo Pennetta
Humboldt Universität zu Berlin, Germany


Photonic Detection

Matteo Alasio
Politecnico di Torino, Italy


Image for keeping the session alive