Skip To Content

CLEO 2024 Honorees

Optica is proud to recognize the outstanding achievements of our community.

Please join us in congratulating the following honorees being recognized during the CLEO 2024 Plenary Session I.

Charles Hard Townes Medal

Established in 1980 to honor Charles Hard Townes, whose pioneering contributions to masers and lasers led to the development of the field of quantum electronics, the medal recognizes outstanding experimental or theoretical work, discovery or invention in the field of quantum electronics.

Franco Nori
RIKEN, Japan, and University of Michigan, USA  

For his many fundamental contributions to quantum optics, quantum information processing, and quantum circuits, and for the development of key quantum software tools.


William F. Meggers Award

Established in 1970 to honor William Meggers for his notable contributions to the field of spectroscopy and metrology, this medal recognizes outstanding work in spectroscopy.


Nathalie Picqué
Max-Born Institute, Germany

For pioneering broadband molecular spectroscopy with interfering frequency combs.



2024 Fellows

Recognizing Optica members who have served with distinction in the advancement of optics and photonics through distinguished contributions to education, research, engineering, business leadership and society. View a complete list of 2024 Fellows.

Firooz Aflatouni
University of Pennsylvania, USA
For interdisciplinary work on integrated photonic-electronic systems including photonic deep neural networks for direct image classification and photonic-assisted microwave imaging

Vladimir Aksyuk
National Inst of Standards & Technology, USA
For pioneering contributions to optical switching and sensing systems utilizing micro-electro-mechanical system (MEMS) actuation principles and nanophotonics


Muyinatu A. Lediju Bell
Johns Hopkins University, USA
For pioneering contributions to photoacoustic imaging techniques and applications for surgical guidance


Andrea Blanco-Redondo
CREOL, The College of Optics and Photonics, University of Central Florida, USA
For her discovery of pure-quartic solitons and pioneering contributions to topological quantum photonics


Garrett Cole
Thorlabs Inc, USA
For advancements in precision optical metrology, namely the pioneering development and successful commercialization of novel substrate-transferred crystalline optical interference coatings


Jean-Michel Di Nicola
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
For world-class scientific and engineering contributions in high-energy and high-peak-power laser systems, and key technical leadership at the National Ignition Facility


Peter Dragic
Univ of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
For pioneering contributions to intrinsically low nonlinearity optical fiber, fiber laser materials, and modeling


Simin Feng
US Naval Surface Warfare Center Dahlgren Division, USA
For groundbreaking scientific and technical leadership in metamaterial transition and in creating a paradigm shift in active denial technology


Martin C. Fischer
Duke University, USA
For pioneering contributions to nonlinear optical microscopy and imaging in biomedicine, materials science, and cultural heritage


Frédéric Grillot
Télécom Paris, Institut Polytechnique de Paris, France, and The University of New-Mexico, USA
For his pioneering work on mid infrared optoelectronics and quantum dot lasers for silicon photonics


Javier Antonio Jo
University of Oklahoma, USA
For pioneering contributions to the integration of optical imaging and artificial intelligence for biomedical applications and service to the optical community


Pei-Cheng Ku
University of Michigan, USA
For pioneering contributions to semiconductor nanostructured optoelectronic materials, devices, and their applications


Ray-Kuang Lee
National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
For demonstrated quantum machine-learning, and the implementation of quantum noise reduction for the advanced gravitational wave detectors, and the development of quantum noise squeezing


Jurgen Michel
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
For pioneering contributions to germanium-on-silicon integrated photonics and to erbium-in-silicon light-emitting devices


Michael Mielke
AdValue Photonics Inc, USA
For outstanding technology and business leadership contributions to the industrial laser field and exemplary services to Optica and the photonics community


Arup Neogi
University of Electronic Science & Technology of China, China
For pioneering contributions to ultrafast and nonlinear effects in semiconductors and sustained global research in photonics and phononics


Roberto Paiella
Boston University, USA
For outstanding contributions to the development of novel optoelectronic devices based on quantum-confined systems and photonic nanostructures 


Mark C. Phillips
Wyant College of Optical Sciences, University of Arizona, USA
For significant contributions to broadband laser spectroscopy and applications to gas sensing, characterization of solids, and plasma diagnostics


Matteo Rinaldi
Northeastern University, USA
For pioneering contributions to the research, development, and commercialization of zero-power wireless infrared sensors


Todd Stievater
US Naval Research Laboratory, USA
For scientific advances in quantum confined semiconductors, micro-opto-mechanical systems, waveguides, integrated photonics, and their development for DOD applications


Alexander Szameit
University of Rostock, Germany
For groundbreaking contributions to photonic simulations of quantum and solid state phenomena


Jonathan J. Wierer, Jr.
North Carolina State University, USA
For pioneering contributions to the physics and engineering of high-efficiency, high-power light-emitting-diode illumination sources


Shuiqing “Fisher” Yu
University of Arkansas, USA
For technical innovations and leadership in developing SiGeSn optoelectronics infrared sensor applications


Avi Zadok
Bar-Ilan University, Israel
For pioneering optomechanical sensing outside optical fibers


Chao Zhou
Washington University in St Louis, USA
For pioneering advancements in parallel OCT imaging technologies and the development of non-invasive optogenetic pacing techniques in animal models

Image for keeping the session alive