Skip To Content

Adaptive Optics Facility on the Very Large Telescope (VLT) at European Southern Observatory's Paranal Observatory Team Members



Robin Arsenault, AOF Project Manager

Pierre-Yves Madec, AOF System Engineer

Norbert Hubin, AOF Project definition and Steering Committee Chair

Harald Kuntschner, AOF Project Scientist

Jean-Francois Pirard, Telescope UT4 Upgrade for AOF and Commissioning manager

Lieselotte Jochum, Project Controller


System & Optics

Jerome Paufique, GRAAL module system Engineer

Elise Vernet, (ESO) DSM system Engineer

Paolo La Penna, GALACSI module sub-system manager

Stefan Stroebele, GALACSI module system Engineer

Wolfgang Hackenberg, 4LGSF sub-system manager

Domenico Bonaccini Calia, 4LGSF system Engineer

Enrico Fedrigo, Real Time Standard Platform sub-project manager

Johann Kolb, Lead Adaptive Optics system physicist

Sylvain Oberti, Adaptive Optics system physicist

Steffan Lewis, 4LGSF Lasers contract manager

Miska Le Louarn, Adaptive Optics simulations

Pierre Haguenauer, Adaptive Optics commissioning Engineer

Marc Sarazin, Astronomical Site Monitoring upgrade (for AOF) manager

Antonio Manescau-Hernandez, (ESO) MUSE System Engineer

Bernard Delabre, AOF Optical Design

Bernard Buzzoni, Optical Technician (Launch Tel. Testing)

Stéphane Guisard, Optical Engineer (DSM installation & alignment)

Ronald Holzloehner, 4LGSF laser physicist (return flux simulation & analysis)

Samuel Leveque, Optical Engineer (metrology and alignment methods)


Control, Electronics & Detector Systems

Mario Kiekebusch, Lead Software Engineer for GRAAL & GALACSI

Mauro Comin, Software Engineer for the 4LGSF

Javier Argomedo, Software Engineer for GRAAL

Robert Donaldson, Software Engineer for the Real-Time Adaptive Optics control

Christian Soenke, Electronic Engineer for the Real-Time Adaptive Optics control

Marcos Suarez Valles, Real Time Standard Platform sub-project manager

Philippe Duhoux, Adaptive Optics Software Engineer

Steward McClay, Software Engineer support for the 4LGSF

Dan Popovic, Software Engineer support for the 4LGSF

Ivan Munoz, Software Engineer, Interface with Telescope Control Software

Gianluca Chiozzi, Software Engineer for Astronomical Site Monitoring Upgrade

Heiko Sommer, Software Engineer for Astronomical Site Monitoring Upgrade

Dario Dorigo, Software Engineer for Astronomical Site Monitoring Upgrade

Thomas Bierwirth, Manager for Software development for the Astronomical Site Monitoring Upgrade

Ignacio Vera, Data Base Administrator

Giorgio Calderone, Software Engineer

Michel Duchateau, Lead Electronic Engineer for GALACSI

Andreas Jost, Lead Electronic Engineer for GRAAL

Ivan M. Guidolin, Lead Electronic Engineer for the 4LGSF

Lothar Kern, Electronic Engineer for the 4LGSF Safety Systems

Gert Fischer, Senior Electronic Technician

Andreas Haimerl, Electronic Technician

Pablo Gutierrez-Cheetham, Electronic Engineer for GALACSI

Lorenzo Pettazzi, Control Engineer

Babak Sedghi, Control Engineer

Fernando Gago, Control Engineer

Mark Downing, Lead Electronic Engineer for WFS Detector Development

Javier Reyes, Senior Detector Engineer

Mirko Todorovic, Electronic Engineer

Leander Mehrgan, Detector Engineer


Mechanics & AIV

Ralf Conzelmann, Lead Mechanical Engineer for GRAAL & GALACSI

Ronald Guzman, Mechanical Engineer for 4LGSF

Marco Quattri, Mechanical Engineering & Analysis for 4LGSF

Paul Jolley, Mechanical Engineer

Rob Ridings, Mechanical Engineer

Jose Antonio Abad, Mechanical Engineer

Christophe Frank, Mechanical Engineer

Jutta Quentin, Drafting  

Juan Carlos Palacio, Mechanical Engineer

Sebastien Tordo, Lead Integration Engineer

Jean-Louis Lizon, Senior Integration & Cryogenic Engineer

Christophe Dupuy, Senior Integration Engineer

Thomas Pfrommer, Integration Physicist for 4LGSF

Emmanuel Aller-Carpentier, Integration Engineer

Stefan Huber, Mechanical Technician

Jean-Paul Kirchbauer, Mechanical Technician


Commissioning, Science & Operation

Joël Daniel Roger Vernet, GALACSI-MUSE Instrument Scientist

Pascale Hibon, GRAAL/Hawk-I Instrument Scientist

Paola Amico, Laser Traffic Control System Engineer

Peter Hammersley, UT4 re-commissioning

Stéphane Brillant, On-Site Science Operation

Javier Valenzuela, On-Site Instrumentation Engineer

Diego Del Valle, On-Site Software Engineer

Jose-Luis Álvarez, On-Site Laser Operation Engineer

Juan Carlos Guerra, On-Site Adaptive Optics Engineer

Christian Ramirez, On-Site Mechanical Engineer

Juan Beltran, On-Site Instrumentation Specialist

Pedro Baksai, On-Site Software Engineer

Pierre Bourget, On-Site Optical Engineer

Pierre Sansgasset, On-Site Optical Engineer

Volker Heinz, On-Site UT4 Upgrade support

Eloy Fuenteseca, On-Site Cooling Facility upgrade

Fernando Selman, On-Site Instrumentation Scientist

George Hau, On-Site Science Operation

Dominika Wylezalek, MUSE Data Reduction

Image for keeping the session alive