Skip To Content
Past Awards

Allen Prize
Archie Mahan Prize
Dekker Foundation Student Scholarship Award
New Focus/Bookham Student Award

Allen Prize

Established in 1990 and concluded in 2004, this prize was presented to a person who, while a graduate student, made outstanding contributions to atmospheric remote sensing using electro-optical instrumentation especially for conceiving new and unique devices, for the development of new measuring techniques, or for perceptive analysis of remote sensing measurements.  The work which the award recognized should have been completed no more than three years prior to the date of the original nomination deadline.  It was endowed by Robert Allen and consisted of a certificate and $1,500.


Year Name
2004 Jens Biegert
2003 Weilin Pan
2002 Iain Fletcher Howieson
2001 David N. Whiteman
2000 Remy Avila
1999 Blake Crowther
1998 Huailin Chen
1997 Richard Collins
1996 William E. Eichinger
1995 Carter Grotbeck
1994 Jirong Yu
1993 Timothy J. Kane
1992 Chris A. Hostetler
1991 Zhiping Chu
1990 Richard E. Bills


Archie Mahan Prize

Established in 1992 at the bequest of former Treasurer Archie Mahan, this biennial prize recognized the best feature article in Optics & Photonics News (OPN).  Selection was based on accessibility beyond the area of specialty, clarity of text, uses of figures and illustrations, topical interest, current relevance, and writing style.  The prize consisted of a certificate and $1,500.  OPN articles were automatically reviewed and nominations not solicited.  The prize was concluded in 2004.


Year   Name

Heidi Hofer, David R. Williams

For revealing the wide array of remarkable ways that eyes auto calibrate, through clearly explained, illustrated examples that include tests that readers can perform with their own eyes in their article “The Eye's Mechanisms for Autocalibration"


Edward Walter Hagley, Lu Deng, William D. Phillips, Keith Burnett,
and Charles W. Clark

For "The Atom Laser", a focused and well-organized article that succinctly connects recent observations in the field of phase coherent matter waves with early 20th century research on Bose-Einstein condensation


Paula R. L. Heron and Lillian C. McDermott

For the relevance of her article to the important dialogue concerning science education, and the accessibility to a general readership through use of clear, well-illustrated examples


Roger Easton, Jr, Robert H. Johnston and Keith T. Knox

For the August 1997 OPN feature article "Imaging the Dead Sea Scrolls"


Robert E. Spero and Stan Whitcomb

For their Optics & Photonics News article, "The Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory (LIGO)," which was published in July 1995


Robert Q. Fugate

For his article "Laser Beacon Adaptive Optics," which appeared in the June 1993 issue of Optics & Photonics News


Dekker Foundation Student Scholarship Award

Presented in 2003 and 2005, this student scholarship was co-sponsored with the Dekker Foundation.  The $10,000 scholarship was open to graduate students in the field of photonics and optical engineering. Winners received a $10,000 cash prize, up to $1,000 in travel support and a certificate presented at Frontiers in Optics.


Year Name
2005 Joyce Poon
2003 Sameer R. Bhalotra


New Focus/Bookham Student Award

Established in 1997 and concluded in 2008, this student award program served to encourage research excellence, presentation prowess, and leadership in the optics community among Student Members. The multi-part competition concluded with a special oral presentation session during CLEO/QELS.

Winners & Finalists

Year   Name
2008   Top Prize: Richard Sandberg, JILA and Univ. of Colorado at Boulder, USA
  • Amit Agrawal, Univ. of Utah, USA
  • Wenshan Cai, Purdue Univ. USA
  • François Couny, Univ. of Bath, UK
  • Umit Demirbas, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • Amy Lytle, JILA and Univ. of Colorado at Boulder, USA
  • Franklyn Quinlan, Univ. of Central Florida, USA
2007   Top Prize: Kenneth Chau, Univ. of Alberta, Canada

  • Keisuke Lucas Goda, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • Michael Chung-Yi Huang, Univ. of California, Berkeley, USA
  • Hong Chuyen Nguyen, Univ. of Sydney, Australia
  • Yoshi Okawachi, Cornell Univ., USA
  • Giovanni Volpe, Institut de Ciencies Fotoniques, Spain
  • Ying Zhou, CREOL, Univ. of Central Florida, USA

Top Prize: Virginia O. Lorenz, JILA, Univ. of Colorado and NIST, USA

  • Andrew M. C. Dawes, Duke Univ., USA
  • Jonathan A. N. Fisher, Univ. of Pennsylvania, USA
  • Di Liang, Univ. of Notre Dame, USA
  • Yi-Hsin Lin, Univ. of Central Florida, USA
  • Iva Maxwell, Harvard Univ., USA
  • Babak Momeni, Georgia Institute of Technology, USA

Top Prize: Gretchen Campbell, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

  • Ivan Amat-Roldán, ICFO – Institut de Ciències Fotòniques, Barcelona, Spain
  • Aaron Danner, Univ. of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Preetpaul Devgan, Northwestern Univ., USA
  • Zhi Jiang, Purdue Univ., USA
  • Sajjad A. Khan, CREOL, Univ. of Central Florida, USA
  • Thomas P. White, CUDOS, Univ. of Sydney, Australia

Top Prize: Jason McKeever, California Institute of Technology, USA

  • Lukas Chrostowski, Univ. of California Berkeley, USA
  • James Edward Carey, Harvard Univ., USA
  • Paulo C. Dainese, Jr., State Univ. at Campinas (Unicamp), Brazil
  • Christiano J. S. de Matos, Imperial College London, UK
  • Aparna Bhatnagar, Stanford Univ., UK
  • Kevin W. Holman, Univ. of Colorado, USA

Top Prize: Michael Mielke, Univ. of Central Florida, USA

  • Felix Brunner, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Bradley Ferguson, Univ. of Adelaide, Australia, and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA
  • Joel McCajah Hales, Univ. of Central Florida, USA
  • Ju Han Lee, Univ. of Southampton, UK
  • Kenneth Kin-Yip Wong, Stanford Univ., USA
  • Seth Aubin, State Univ. of New York, Stony Brook, USA
  • E. Staffan Bjorlin, Univ. of California, Santa Barbara, USA
  • Michael J. Escuti, Brown Univ., USA
  • Gordon A. Keeler, Stanford Univ., USA
  • Jason D. McKinney, Purdue Univ., USA
  • Victor Perlin, Univ. of Michigan, USA
  • Sergey V. Polyakov, Univ. of Central Florida/CREOL, USA
  • Paul L. Voss, Northwestern Univ., USA
Image for keeping the session alive