Skip To Content

FiO 2021

Optica, the Optica Foundation, and APS Division of Laser Science are pleased to recognize and celebrate the achievements of several award and honor recipients during FiO.  Please enjoy the FIO LS Awards Ceremony.


Ceremony Program

Please use the links below to view specific parts of the Ceremony. Note - after clicking a link you will need to click play on the video, it does not auto-play.


Connie Chang-Hasnain, 2021 Optica President

Optica Awards and Honors
Optica’s Frederic Ives Medal/Jarus W. Quinn Prize
  • Federico Capasso, Harvard University, USA
Optica Honorary Members
  • Milton M T Chang, Incubic, LLC, USA
  • Erich P Ippen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Optica Awards & Medals
  • Edwin Land Medal, Joseph A. Izatt, Duke University, USA
  • Adolph Lomb Medal, Laura Waller, University of California Berkeley, USA
  • C.E.K. Mees Medal, Halina Rubinsztein-Dunlop, University of Queensland, Australia
  • R. W. Wood Prize, Tobias Kippenberg, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland
  • Esther Hoffman Beller Medal, Nicholas Massa, Springfield Technical Community College, USA
  • Stephen D. Fantone Distinguished Service Award, Anthony M. Johnson, University of Maryland Baltimore County (UMBC), USA
  • Treasurer's Award, Kelly Cohen, Optica Publishing Group, USA
  • Treasurer's Award, Terence Rooney, Optica, USA
  • Robert E. Hopkins Leadership Award, Pierre Chavel, Institut d'Optique, France
  • Max Born Award, Anne L'Huillier, Lund University, Sweden
  • Nick Holonyak Jr. Award, Martin D. Dawson, University of Strathclyde and Fraunhofer, UK
  • Emmett N. Leith Medal, Bahram Javidi, University of Connecticut, USA
  • Paul F. Forman Team Engineering Excellence Award, Infinera's Optical Innovation Team, USA
  • Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize, Zeev Zalevsky, Bar-Ilan University, Israel
  • David Richardson Medal, Majid Ebrahim-Zadeh, ICFO-The Institute of Photonic Sciences & ICREA-Catalan Institution for Research and Advanced Studies, Barcelona, Spain
  • Edgar D. Tillyer Award, David H. Brainard, University of Pennsylvania, USA
  • Michael S. Feld Biophotonics Award, Arjun Yodh, University of Pennsylvania, USA
  • Ellis R. Lippincott Award, Rohit Bhargava, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • William F. Meggers Award, Keith Nelson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Optica Fellows

Optica & Optica Foundation Recognitions

Eric Mazur, Optica Foundation Chair

Diversity & Inclusion Recognition
  • Fujitsu Network Communications, USA
  • ICFO, Spain
Optica Foundation Recognitions
  • Ivan P. Kamniow Early Career Professional Prize, Brandon Buscaino, Stanford University, USA
  • Harvey Pollicove Memorial Scholarship, Tyler Peterson, University of Arizona, USA
  • Milton and Rosalind Chang Pivoting Fellowship, Madison Rilling, Optonique, Québec’s Photonics Cluster, Canada

APS Division of Laser Science Honors

Randy Bartels, APS DLS Chair

APS Fellows
Carl E. Anderson Division of Laser Science Dissertation Award

Closing Remarks

Sujatha Ramanujan, 2021 Optica Awards Council Chair

Selection and Review Committee Thank You and Credits


Image for keeping the session alive