Announcing the New Optica Technical Group Leaders

Optica is pleased to announce the next leaders for twelve of our technical groups. Optica Technical Groups are vibrant and active communities that connect Optica members with colleagues and leaders within specialized topic areas from around the world.

The selected individuals will serve as chair-elect of their group through December 2022 and will serve as chair for a three-year term starting in 2023.

Elected by their fellow members, these individuals will be responsible for selecting an executive committee to collaborate with to foster a sense of community among the members of their group. Working together, they will organize special events featuring tailored programming, host webinars on hot topics, and share information on the latest developments in their field throughout their three-year terms.

The New Optica Technical Group Leaders are:

  • Praveen Arany, Photobiomodulation
  • Hyeon Jeong Lee, Molecular Probes and Nanobio-Optics
  • Katarzyna Komolibus, Tissue Imaging and Spectroscopy
  • Qiang Fu, Lasers in Manufacturing
  • Israel Jacob Vaughn, Polarization Management and Propagation
  • Steven Earl Kooi, Systems and Instrumentation
  • Sujitra Pookpanratana, Gamma, X-Ray and Extreme UV Optics
  • Aparajita Bandyopadhyay, Environmental Sensing
  • Anel Garza Rivera, Image Sensing and Pattern Recognition
  • Safura Sharifi, Quantum Optical Science and Technology
  • Matthew Graham, Ultrafast Optical Phenomena
  • Arathy Kartha, Clinical Vision Sciences