Skip To Content

Li Innovation Prize (CLEO)

Recognizing the top early career members innovative ideas at CLEO.

Program Prize

USD 3,000

Donate Now

The Tingye Li Innovation Prize is presented to an early-career professional who has demonstrated innovative ideas in their accepted paper to CLEO, the premier conference for lasers and electo-optics.

Application Information

How To Apply

Submit a paper to CLEO and opt into the competition. Learn more on the conference website.

Important Dates

The submitting author must opt-in to the competition during the regular paper submission process and follow all of the instructions provided on the submission site.
Paper Submission Deadline: 08 December 2023

Applicant Requirements
  • Have an accepted paper to CLEO or a Post Deadline Paper (PDP) and must have "opted in" during the submission process
  • Be eligible applicant is no older than the age of 39 during the calendar year in which the prize is given
  • Be responsible for, and exhibit innovative ideas in, their research
  • Agree to let the Optica Foundation use their picture, name and story in program marketing opportunities.
Application Requirements

The submitting author must opt-in to the competition during the regular paper submission process.

2024 Recipient

Nicholas Rivera
Nicholas Rivera
Harvard University, USA

Recognized for his paper "An ab initio framework for understanding and controlling quantum fluctuations in complex light-matter systems" at CLEO 2024.

Past Recipients

  • Chen Shang, University of California, Santa Barbara, USA (2023)
  • Armin Feist, MPI for Multidisciplinary Sciences, Germany (2022)
  • Yating Wan, University of California Santa Barbara, USA (2021)
  • Julia Gessner, National Institute of Standards & Technology, USA (2020)
  • Shai Tsesses, Technion- Israel Institute of Technology, Isreal (2019)
  • Logan G. Wright, Cornell University, USA (2018)
  • Yoshitomo Okawachi, Columbia Univ., USA (2017)
  • Marcus Seidel, Max-Planck-Institute of Quantum Optics, Germany (2016)
  • Antonietta De Sio, Universitat Oldenburg, Germany (2015)


This honor is endowed by Alliance Fiber Optic Products, Inc., AT&T, Optica, the IEEE Photonics Society, the IEEE Communications Society, Thorlabs, Inc., the Li family and supporters of the Tingye Li Memorial Fund.

About the Endowment

Established in 2013, the Li Innovation Prize honors the global impact Tingye Li made to laser science and optical fiber communications.

Selection Committee

The recipient is selected by the CLEO conference chairs.

Image for keeping the session alive