Harvey M. Pollicove Memorial Scholarship

Demonstrating potential in precision optics manufacturing and lens design.

Application Dates
01 Jun 2023 - 30 Jun 2023
Program Prize


Each year, a scholarship of USD $4,000 is awarded to a student pursuing a degree in the field of precision optics manufacturing. There are four core universities associated with this program the (University of Rochester, the University of Arizona, the University of Central Florida, and Monroe Community College), but applicants at any university in the US are eligible to apply.

Established in 2007, this program honors the work of Harvey Pollicove and was made possible by the generous contributions to the H.M. Pollicove Memorial Fund by Harvey’s friends and colleagues.

Application Information

How to Apply

Apply when open at

Important Dates

Opens 01 June 2023
Closes 30 June 2023

Applicant Requirements
  • Be an accepted or enrolled in an optics manufacturing program.
  • Be at a minimum an active half-time student (Undergraduate or Graduate) at an institution in the United States
  • Intend to work in the US. optics manufacturing industry upon graduation.
  • Agree to complete and submit a Scholarship Report if they are selected as a scholarship recipient.
Application Requirements
  • Short Answer Questions
    • In 250 words or less, describe why you first became interested in optics/photonics/physics
    • In 250 words or less, how does optics play a role in your current research?
    • In 250 words or less, identify the impact receiving this grant would have on your career.
  • CV/Resume
  • GPA certification (Unofficial Transcript)
  • Two Reference Letters

Selection Committee

  • Don Golini, SANICA Ventures
  • James Sydor, Sydor Optics Inc
  • Walt Czajkowski, APOMA
  • Kathleen Richardson, University of Central Florida, CREOL

Past Recipients

  • Scholarship not provided in 2022
  • Tyler Peterson, University of Arizona, USA (2021)
  • Kellie Kiekens, University of Arizona, USA (2020)
  • Nicholas Kochan, University of Rochester, USA (2019)
  • Juniyali Nauriyal, University of Rochester, USA (2018)
  • Chris Dodds, Monroe Community College, USA (2017)
  • Kameron Tinkham, University of Rochester, USA (2016)
  • James Lewis, Monroe Community CollegeUSA (2015)
  • Antoine Lepicard, University of Central Florida, USA (2014)
  • Laura Coyle, University of Arizona , USA (2013)
  • Peter McCarthy, University of RochesterUSA (2012)
  • Nea Sample, Monroe Community College, USA (2011)
  • Mark Ramme, University of Central FloridaUSA (2010)
  • Katie Schwertz, University of ArizonaUSA (2009)
  • Katherine Hasman, University of RochesterUSA (2008)