Li Innovation Prize (OFC)

Be recognized for research excellence at OFC.

Program Prize


The prize is presented to the author of an exceptional accepted paper to OFC.

Application Information

How to Apply

Submit a paper to OFC and opt into the competition. Learn more on the conference website.

Important Dates

The submitting author must opt-in to the competition during the regular paper submission process and follow all of the instructions provided on the submission site.

Applicant Requirements
  • Have an accepted paper to OFC or a Post Deadline Paper (PDP) and must have "opted in" during the submission process
  • Be no older than the age of 39 during the calendar year the prize is given
  • Be responsible for and exhibit innovative ideas in their research
  • Agree to let the Optica Foundation use their picture, name and story in program marketing opportunities.
Application Requirements

The submitting author must opt-in to the competition during the regular paper submission process.

2023 Recipient

Benjamin Crockett
Benjamin Crockett
Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS), Canada

Benjamin is recognized for his paper "Enhancing the Quantum Correlation of Biphotons via Coherent Energy Redistribution"

Past Recipients

  • Hesham Sakr, Lumenisity Limited, UK (2022)
  • Nicolas Fontaine, Nokia Bell Labs, USA (2021)
  • Di Che, Nokia Bell Labs, USA (2020)
  • Shai Tsesses, Technion- Israel Institute of Technology, Isreal (2019)
  • Eric Numkam Fokoua, University of Southampton, UK (2019)
  • Benjamin Lee, IBM TJ Watson Research Center, USA (2018)
  • Logan G. Wright, Cornell University, USA (2018)
  • Tetsuya Hayashi, Sumitomo Electric, Japan (2017)
  • Yoshitomo Okawachi, Columbia Univ., USA (2017)
  • Marcus Seidel, Max-Planck-Institute of Quantum Optics, Germany (2016)
  • Kohki Shibahara, NTT, Japan (2016)
  • Tae Joon Seok, University of California, Berkeley, USA (2015)
  • Antonietta De Sio, Universitat Oldenburg, Germany (2015)


This honor is endowed by Alliance Fiber Optic Products, Inc., AT&T, Optica, the IEEE Photonics Society, the IEEE Communications Society, Thorlabs, Inc., the Li family and supporters of the Tingye Li Memorial Fund.

About the Endowment

Established in 2013, the Li Innovation Prize honors the global impact Tingye Li made to laser science and optical fiber communications.

Selection Committee

The recipient is selected by the OFC conference chairs.