Corning Women in Optical Communications Travel Grant

Supporting gender equity in Optical Communications at OFC.

Application Dates
01 Nov 2021 - 16 Jan 2022
Program Prize

Travel and Registration to attend OFC

The Corning Women in Optical Fiber Communications travel grants supports ten women to attend OFC. This need-based grant is available for women who are currently undergraduate or graduate students, working as post docs or in the first 1-5 years of their career. Grants are intended to help cover travel and registration costs to attend the OFC meeting in person.


Application Information

How to Apply

Apply when open at

Important Dates

Opens 01 November 2021
Closes 16 January 2022

Applicant Requirements
  • Be a current member
  • Self Identify as a women
  • Be currently enrolled as a graduate student, working as a post doc or in the first 1-5 years of their career
  • Demonstrate need for assistance to OFC. This is not to take the place of standard forms of support, but rather is meant to provide full or supplementary support for someone who otherwise would be expected to cover expenses out of their own pocket.
  • Program requirements recognize and exclude career breaks from career timelines (eg, eldercare; maternity or paternity leave) 
Application Requirements
  • CV/resume
  • Personal statement
  • A statement describing the need and explanation of why funds are not available from traditional sources (eg, travel policy restrictions, advisor budget limitations, lack of corporate travel support)
  • Travel budget including anticipated expenses and any other forms of funding being provided


2021 Selection Committee

  • Elaine Wong, University of Melbourne
  • Frank Effenberger, Futurewei
  • Lidia Galdino, University College London
  • David Plant, McGill University
  • Nan Chi, School of Information Science & Technology, Fudan

Past Recipients

  • 2021 - The travel grant was approved to provide virtual waived registrations for up to 90 women.
  • Hannah Watson, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom (2020)
  • Yan Fu, Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China (2020)
  • Svenja Mauthe, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule, Switzerland (2020)
  • Riti Gour, University of Texas at Dallas, USA (2020)
  • Yating Wan, University of California Santa Barbara, USA (2020)
  • Erin Knutson, Tulane University, USA (2020)
  • Ligia Moreira Zorello, Politecnico di Milano, Italy (2020)
  • Uiara de Moura, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark (2020)
  • Mai Banawan, Universite Laval, Canada (2020)
  • Monette Khadr, SUNY Albany, USA (2020)
  • Chaoran Huang, USA, Princeton University (2019) 
  • Maria Cecília Araújo, Brazil, Mackenzie Presbyterian University (2019) 
  • Niamh Kavanagh, Ireland, Tyndall National Institute (2019) 
  • Xinru Wu, Hong Kong, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (2019) 
  • Christiane Ebongue, USA, Delaware State University (2019) 
  • Marija Trajkovic, Netherlands, Eindhoven University of Technology (2019) 
  • Rani Sweta, India, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (2019) 
  • Honghui ZhangH, Hong Kong, The Chinese University of Hong Kong (2019) 
  • Maria Angela Faustino, Philippines, University of the Philippines-Diliman (2019) 
  • Alba Vela, Spain, Universitat Politècnca de Catalunya (2019) 


This program is endowed by Corning Incorporated.