Bonenfant International Travel Scholarship

Enabling students to study abroad.

Application Dates
01 Mar 2022 - 18 Apr 2022
Program Prize


The Bonenfant International Travel Scholarship enables students enrolled in engineering and/or physical science programs to attend semester-abroad programs offered through their accredited college or university. The goal of the scholarship is to provide international experience to students as they prepare for professional lives that promote global engagement and collaboration.

Application Information

How to Apply

Apply when open at

Important Dates

Opens: 01 March 2022
Closes 18 April 2022

Applicant Requirements
  • Be a student enrolled in engineering and/or physical science programs
  • Have at least a 3.0 grade point average (or the equivalent)
  • Have applied for, or been accepted to, a study-abroad program of at least 6 weeks’ duration
  • Show a demonstrated interest in optics related research and applications
  • Be a resident of the US and a graduate of a 12-year pre-college school in the US (Note: This requirement is in support of the scholarship’s focus on promoting global engagement between students living in the US and their counterparts around the world.)
  • Agree to blog and/or utilize social media platforms to document their trip and to share their experiences and the insights they have gained from living in another culture
Application Requirements
  • Short Answer Questions
    • In 250 words or less, describe why you are interested in participating in a study aboard academic program?
    • In 250 words or less, demonstrate your interest in optics and photonics research.
    • In 250 words or less, share your financial need and how this scholarship will allow you to participate in a global study abroad program.
  • CV/Resume
  • GPA Certificate (Min 3.0 or Equivalent)
  • Two letters of recommendation. At least one of the letters should be from a faculty member who is familiar with the student’s educational performance. 

Past Recipients

  • Travis Sawyer, University of Arizona, USA (2019)
  • Adrianna Mitchell, University of Arizona, USA (2018)
  • Alden Hoke, Drexel University, USA (2018)
  • Evan Sloan, Caltech, USA (2016)
  • Victorine Muse, Cornell University, USA (2015)
  • Margaret Cron, Ohio State University, USA (2014)
  • Stephanie Laga, California Institute of Technology, USA (2013)