Jean Bennett Memorial Student Travel Grant

Supporting student member travel to FiO+LS.

Program Prize


This program was established in 2008, in memory of Jean M. Bennett, a highly decorated research physicist known for her contributions to the studies of optical surfaces and served as our first female president. In her honor, one grant of USD 1,000 will be awarded to a student member presenting their work at Frontiers in Optics in recognition of their research excellence.

Application Information

How to Apply

Submit a paper to FiO+LS and opt into the competition. Learn more on the conference website.

Important Dates

The submitting author must opt-in to the competition during the regular paper submission process and follow all of the instructions provided on the submission site.
Paper Submission Deadline: 07 July 2020

Applicant Requirements
  • Apply at the time of paper submission
  • Be the presenter of a paper or poster accepted at FiO.
  • Be a current member.
  • Be an undergraduate or graduate student of an educational institution of collegiate grade who is devoting more than half-time to studies within the institution at the time the paper was written.
Application Requirements
  • Short Answer Questions
    • In 250 words or less, describe why you first became interested in optics/photonics/physics
    • In 250 words or less, how does optics play a role in your current research?
    • In 250 words or less, identify the impact receiving this grant would have on your career.
  • CV/Resume
  • Personal Statement
  • Accepted Paper and Abstract
  • Two Reference Letters

2021 Selection Committee

The recipient is selected by the FiO+LS conference and program chairs.

Past Recipients

  • 2020 - Due to Covid-19 the travel grant was approved to cover costs for 20 student presenter FIO registration for the virtual meeting.
  • Peter Schnauber, TU Berlin, Germany (2019)
  • Muhammed Veli, University of California Los Angeles, USA (2018) 
  • Aonan Zhang, Nanjing University, China (2017) 
  • Roxana Rezvani Naraghi, University of Central Florida, USA (2016)  
  • Zi Jing Wong, University of Callifornia, Berkeley, USA (2015) 
  • Christopher Edwards, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA  (2014) 
  • Laszlo Gyongyosi, Budapest University of Technology, Hungary  (2013) 
  • Emma Wisniewski-Barker, University of Glasgow, UK  (2012) 
  • Micha Nixon, Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel  (2011) 
  • Tongcang Li,University of Texas at Austin, USA  (2010) 


This competition is made possible through the generous support of Nanoptek Corporation, the Pennsylvania State University Department of Physics and individual contributors, including: James C. Wyant, Alexander A. Sawchuk, G. Michael and Ruth Morris, Aden B. Meinel, Julio R. Blanco, Yoshiharu Namba, Leo Hollberg, Siu Au Lee and Dr. Kathleen Richardson.