Boris P. Stoicheff Memorial Scholarship

Recognizing student research excellence and community engagement.

Program Prize

USD 3,000

Established in 2011 with the Canadian Association of Physicists Foundation (CAPF), this program pays tribute to Boris P. Stoicheff, an internationally renowned laser spectroscopist and former President of the OSA (1976) and CAP (1983-84).

This scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate or graduate student who has demonstrated both research excellence and significant service the society or the physics community. The scholarship rotates annually between the Optica Foundation (odd years) and CAP Foundation (even years).

Application Information

How to Apply

Submit a paper to FiO+LS and opt into the competition. Learn more on the conference website.

Important Dates

The submitting author must opt-in to the competition during the regular paper submission process and follow all of the instructions provided on the submission site.
Paper Submission Deadline: 07 July 2021

Applicant Requirements
  • Be an accepted, registered, or enrolled full-time graduate student studying astronomy, chemistry, electrical engineering, medical physics, or a subject related to optics, photonics or physics
  • Have at least one publication in a peer-reviewed journal that is recognized by the awarding society
  • Have made at least one conference presentation at a scientific meeting recognized by the society
  • Have an accepted submission at the FiO or CAP conference
  • Demonstrate community service, which may include, but is not limited to: leadership in a student association or other student organization at the undergraduate or graduate level
Application Requirements
  • Short answer questions
    • In 250 words or less, describe why you first became interested in optics/photonics/physics
    • In 250 words or less, how does optics play a role in your current research?
    • In 250 words or less, identify the impact receiving this grant would have on your career
  • CV/resume
  • Personal statement
  • GPA certification (unofficial transcript)
  • Two reference letters

2021 Selection Committee

The recipient is selected by the FiO+LS conference chairs.


Murat Yessenov
CREOL, University of Central Florida, USA

A Ph.D. student in the Optics program, CREOL, University of Central Florida. He got his B.S. in Physics at Nazarbayev University, Astana, Kazakhstan, where he did undergraduate research in elementary particle physics. Currently, Murat is involved in research in physical optics. He works on space-time wave-packets, which are classically entangled light waves.

Past Recipients

  • Matthew Robbins, University of Waterloo (2020)
  • An Pan, Xi'an Institute of Optics and Precision Mechanics, China (2019)
  • Robin Puchert, Universität Regensburg, Germany (2018)
  • Aimee K. Gunther, University of Waterloo (2018)
  • Ali Kazemi Jahromi, University of Central Florida, USA (2017)
  • Christopher Pugh, University of Waterloo, Canada (2016)
  • Itai Epstein, Tel-Aviv University, Israel (2015)
  • Juan Nicolas Quesada, University of Toronto, Canada (2014)
  • Yanhui Zhao, Penn State University, USA (2013)
  • Wilson Brenna, University of Waterloo, Canada (2012)