Stoicheff Memorial Scholarship

Recognizing student research excellence and community engagement.

Program Prize

USD 3,000

Established in 2011 with the Canadian Association of Physicists Foundation (CAPF), this program pays tribute to Boris P. Stoicheff, an internationally renowned laser spectroscopist and former President of the OSA (1976) and CAP (1983-84).

This scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate or graduate student who has demonstrated both research excellence and significant service the society or the physics community. The scholarship rotates annually between the Optica Foundation (odd years) and CAP Foundation (even years).

Application Information

How to Apply

2022 will be administered by CAP. Learn more here.

Submit a paper to FiO+LS and opt into the competition. Learn more on the conference website.

Important Dates


Applicant Requirements
  • Be an accepted, registered, or enrolled full-time graduate student studying astronomy, chemistry, electrical engineering, medical physics, or a subject related to optics, photonics or physics
  • Have at least one publication in a peer-reviewed journal that is recognized by the awarding society
  • Have made at least one conference presentation at a scientific meeting recognized by the society
  • Have an accepted submission at the FiO or CAP conference
  • Demonstrate community service, which may include, but is not limited to: leadership in a student association or other student organization at the undergraduate or graduate level
Application Requirements
  • Short answer questions
    • In 250 words or less, describe why you first became interested in optics/photonics/physics
    • In 250 words or less, how does optics play a role in your current research?
    • In 250 words or less, identify the impact receiving this grant would have on your career
  • CV/resume
  • Personal statement
  • GPA certification (unofficial transcript)
  • Two reference letters

2022 Recipient

Kate Fenwick
Kate Fenwick
University of Ottawa, Canada

Kate is a PhD Student at the University of Ottawa and the National research Council of Canada. She was selected by the Canadian Association of Physicists for her research focused on ultrafast, all-optical switching and her leadership in the community, which includes: co-chairing CAP's International Da of Light outreach efforts, co-founding the Candaian Phjotonics Online Meetup (canPOM) and serving as president of the University of Ottawa Joint Optica-SPIE Student Chapter.

Past Recipients

  • Murat Yessenov, CREOL, University of Central Florida, USA (2021)
  • Matthew Robbins, University of Waterloo (2020)
  • An Pan, Xi'an Institute of Optics and Precision Mechanics, China (2019)
  • Robin Puchert, Universität Regensburg, Germany (2018)
  • Aimee K. Gunther, University of Waterloo (2018)
  • Ali Kazemi Jahromi, University of Central Florida, USA (2017)
  • Christopher Pugh, University of Waterloo, Canada (2016)
  • Itai Epstein, Tel-Aviv University, Israel (2015)
  • Juan Nicolas Quesada, University of Toronto, Canada (2014)
  • Yanhui Zhao, Penn State University, USA (2013)
  • Wilson Brenna, University of Waterloo, Canada (2012)

Selection Committee

When administered by Optica,the recipient is selected by the FiO+LS conference chairs.