Skip To Content

Gordon Memorial Speakership

Present on quantum information and optics at CLEO.

Program Prize

US$1,500 honorarium

Established in 2014 with the support of the Gordon family, the James P. Gordon Memorial Endowment provides funding for a speakership on Quantum Information and Quantum Optics to a CLEO invited speaker. This speakership pays tribute to Jim's numerous high-impact contributions to quantum electronics and photonics, including the demonstration of the maser.


Application Information

How To Apply

There is no application process. The honoree must be nominated by the CLEO Program Chairs.

Important Dates

Invited speakers will be reviewed by the chairs and a recipient will be determined based on the criteria of the award.

The submitting author must opt-in to the competition during the regular paper submission process and follow all of the instructions provided on the submission site.
Paper Submission Deadline: 01 January 0001

Applicant Requirements
  • Be an invited speaker at the CLEO conference
  • Have a presentation related to quantum information and/or quantum optics
  • Demonstrated high-impact contributions to quantum electronics and photonics
  • Attend and present at CLEO
  • Be recommended for consideration by a CLEO Program Chair
  • Agree to let the foundation provide your presentation at no charge through the Optica online media library and to use their picture, name and story in program marketing opportunities
Application Requirements
  • CLEO program chairs will nominate a maximum of two invited speakers who fulfil the criteria for eligibility
  • CLEO general chairs will review all recommendations and select a maximum of one speakership recipient
  • The recommendation of the CLEO General Chairs is reviewed by the Optica Foundation for final approval

2024 Recipient

Hannes Bernien
Hannes Bernien
University of Chicago, USA

Presenting “Quantum Networks with Atom Arrays as Processing Nodes (ID: STh1F.1)” at CLEO 2024.

Past Recipients

  • Tracy Northup, University of Innsbruck, Austria (2023)
  • Ekkehard Peik, Physikalisch Technische Bundesanstalt,  Germany (2022)
  • Chao-Yang Lu, University of Science and Technology in China, China (2021)
  • Jelena Vuckovic, QFarm, Stanford-SLAC Quantum Science and Engineering Initiative Stanford (2020)
  • Mark Kasevich, Stanford University, US (2019) 
  • Mikhail Lukin, Harvard Univ., USA (2018)
  • Paul Kwiat, Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA (2017) 
  • H. Jeff Kimble, California Inst of Technology, USA (2016) 
  • Jean-Michel Raimond, Universite Pierre-et-Marie-Curie, France  (2015) 


This speakership is endowed by the Gordon family and supporters of the James P. Gordon Memorial Fund and is administered by the Optica Foundation.

About the Endowment


Selection Committee

The recipient is selected by the CLEO conference chairs

Image for keeping the session alive