Yasuhiko Arakawa

Awards & Distinctions

OSA Fellow Yasuhiko Arakawa received the B.E., M.E., and Ph.D. degrees in electronics and electrical engineering from the University of Tokyo in 1975, 1977, and 1980, respectively. In 1980, he joined the University of Tokyo as an assistant professor and became a full professor in 1993. He is currently Professor and the Director of the Research Center for Photonics Electronics Convergence (CPEC) at the Institute of Industrial Science and also the Director of Institute for Nano Quantum Information Electronics (Nano-Quine) at The University of Tokyo.

He has been awarded the Leo Esaki Award, the IEEE/LEOS William Streifer Award, the Fujiwara Award, the Prime Minister Award, the Medal with Purple Ribbon, the IEEE David Sarnoff Award, the C&C Award, the Heinrich Welker Award, OSA’s Holonyak Award, and the JSAP Achievement Award.


Document Created: 11 Feb 2020
Last Updated: 17 Sep 2021