2022 Siegman International School on Lasers

25 June 2022 – 02 July 2022

University of Warsaw, Chęciny, Poland

University of Warsaw Faculty of Physics


The University of Warsaw, with its 21 faculties, 58 thousand students and 3.6 thousand research and teaching staff, is the largest university in Poland. From its foundation in 1816 it has produced multiple notable alumni, including 6 Nobel Prize laureates. It ranks among the top 3% of World’s best universities. One of the most significant contributors to the success of the University is the Faculty of Physics, which is the leading research and educational institution in physics and astronomy. The Faculty belongs to the group of 75 top physics departments in the world according to the Shanghai's Global Ranking of Academic Subjects and maintains collaborations with top research groups worldwide. Research areas and courses available for undergraduate and graduate students include many fields of physics such as theoretical and experimental physics, geophysics, biophysics and medical physics. The research topics in optics range from biomedical optics, through modern spectroscopy, atom optics, plasmonics, nanophotonics, nonlinear optics, computational imaging, all the way to optical quantum technologies, with all experiments conducted in high quality, state-of-the-art laboratories.

The University of Warsaw belongs to the 4EU+ European University alliance, grouping key universities from across the European Union. To learn more about the University of Warsaw click here.