Optical Metamaterials Based on Broken Symmetries

Hosted By: Photonic Metamaterials Technical Group

16 June 2020, 13:00 - 14:00 - Eastern Daylight Time (UTC - 04:00)

Download Presentation Slides

In this webinar hosted by the OSA Photonic Metamaterials Technical Group, Andrea Alù will present on recent research activity in nano-optics and electromagnetics, showing how suitably tailored meta-atoms and arrangements of them open exciting venues to realize new phenomena and devices for light.

Alù will discuss venues to induce chirality and sharp frequency responses based on lattice symmetries, to largely break Lorentz reciprocity and realize isolation without the need of magnetic bias based on broken time-reversal symmetry, and to induce enhanced light-matter interactions at exceptional points induced by parity-time symmetry. Alù will discuss how broken symmetries in space and space-time open the opportunity to induce topological order in metamaterials. Finally, the webinar will cover the impact of these concepts from basic science to practical technology, from classical waves to quantum phenomena.

What You Will Learn:

  • How the fundamental knowledge of time-reversal and parity-time symmetries can be used to create photonic metamaterial-based devices that show non-reciprocity and isolation, enhanced light-matter interactions and topological order

Who Should Attend:

  • Research scientists and engineers in university, government and industrial laboratories
  • Master and PhD students

About the Presenter: Andrea Alù, CUNY Advanced Science Research Center

Andrea Alù is the Founding Director and Einstein Professor at the Photonics Initiative, CUNY Advanced Science Research Center. He received his Laurea (2001) and PhD (2007) from the University of Roma Tre, Italy, and, after a postdoc at the University of Pennsylvania, he joined the faculty of the University of Texas at Austin in 2009, where he was the Temple Foundation Endowed Professor until Jan. 2018. Dr. Alù is a Fellow of NAI, AAAS, IEEE, OSA, SPIE and APS, and has received several scientific awards, including the 2020 IEEE Kiyo Tomiyasu Award, the Vannevar Bush Faculty Fellowship from DoD (2019) , the 2017 ICO Prize in Optics, the 2015 NSF Alan T. Waterman award, the 2013 OSA Adolph Lomb Medal, and the 2011 URSI Issac Koga Gold Medal.