3 April 2018

The Optical Society Presents Nick Holonyak Jr. Award for 2018

WASHINGTON—The Optical Society (OSA) is pleased to name Dieter Bimberg, Technische Universität Berlin, Germany and King Abdul Aziz University, Saudi Arabia, the 2018 recipient of the Nick Holonyak Jr. Award. OSA honors Bimberg for fundamental discoveries on growth and physics of semiconductor nanostructures leading to novel nanophotonic devices for information science and communications.
“Professor Dieter Bimberg has made an enormous impact to the field of semiconductor nanophotonics, with important contributions  spanning from materials science, nanophysics, measurement technology, nano-photonic devices, to applications,” said Award Selection Committee Chair, Connie Chang-Hasnain, University of California Berkeley, USA. “He has lead influential research teams, managed his own research center and worked with nanophotonics startups. Like Nick Holonyak, his passion for the science shines through with every new venture.”
2017 Awards Council Chair and 2018 OSA President-Elect Ursula Gibson of the Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway added, “OSA thanks the nominators, references, and selection committee members who participated in the process, and play a crucial role in determining the recipient of this prestigious award. We are pleased to highlight Dieter’s many contributions.”

The Nick Holonyak Jr. Award is given for contributions to optics based on semiconductor-based devices and optical materials, including basic science and technological applications. It is endowed by SDL Ventures, LLC, and Donald and Carol Scifres.

Dieter H. Bimberg is the founding director of the Center of NanoPhotonics and the department of Applied Physics at Technische Universität Berlin, Germany and Distinguished Adjunct Professor at King Abdul-Aziz University, Jeddah. His honors include the Russian State Prize in Science and Technology, his elections to the German Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, to the Russian Academy of Sciences, to the US National Academies of Engineering and Inventors, as Fellow of APS and IEEE, the Max-Born, William Streifer and Heinrich-Welker Awards, and the UNESCO Nanoscience Medal. He holds a D. sc. h. c. from the University of Lancaster, UK.
His research interests include the growth and physics of nanostructures and nanophotonic devices, measurement techniques for nanostructures, ultrahigh speed and energy efficient photonic devices for communication systems, single/entangled photon emitters for quantum cryptography and nanomemories based on quantum dots. His scientific work lead to 1600 publications, 36 patent families, and 7 books resulting in 56,000+ citations worldwide and a Hirsch factor of 104.
About The Optical Society
Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and entrepreneurs who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts. For more information, visit osa.org.
Media Contact