OSA Media Relations

76 OSA Members Elected as Newest Class of Fellows

WASHINGTON, Dec. 4. 2014—The Optical Society (OSA) Board of Directors is pleased to announce that 76 OSA Members have been elected as the newest class of OSA Fellow Members. Individual OSA Members were elected for their significant contributions to the advancement of optics and photonics, many of whom will be honored at OSA conferences throughout 2015. The society appreciates the efforts of the nominators and of the members of the Fellow Members Committee, who reviewed all of the submissions.  A listing of all 76 new fellow members appears below.

OSA Fellows are selected based on their overall impact on optics, as gauged through factors such as specific scientific, engineering, and technological contributions, a record of significant publications or patents related to optics, technical leadership in the field, and service to OSA and the global optics community. Additionally, a new category recognizing business leadership was added in 2014.  Drawing from nominations from current fellows, the OSA Fellow Members Committee recommends candidates to the OSA Board of Directors. This process is highly competitive, as no more than 10 percent of the OSA Membership may be Fellows.  More than 50 percent of this year’s fellow members reside outside of the United States. 

“This year’s class of OSA Fellows has offered prodigious service to OSA and the global optics community,” said OSA President Philip Bucksbaum. “The Optical Society is honored to offer recognition for their outstanding contributions and leadership in the optics and photonics profession.”

2015 OSA Fellow Members:
·         Peter E. Andersen, Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
·         Gisele Bennett, Georgia Tech Research Institute, USA
·         Adela Ben-Yakar, University of Texas at Austin, USA
·         Alexandra Boltasseva, Purdue University, USA
·         Alberto Bramati, Université Pierre et Marie Curie, France
·         Robert P. Breault, Breault Research Organization Inc., USA
·         Rémi Carminati, Institut Langevin, ESPCI Paris Tech, France
·         P. Scott Carney, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
·         Giulio Cerullo, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
·         Gabriella Cincotti, University Roma Tre, Italy
·         Paolo De Natale, Istituto Nazionale di Ottica-CNR, Italy
·         Liang Dong, Clemson University, USA
·         Christophe Dorrer, University of Rochester, USA
·         Frank J. Effenberger, Huawei Technologies, USA
·         Jason Matthew Eichenholz, Open Photonics, USA
·         Dean R. Evans, U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory, USA
·         Carlos Ferreira, Universitat de Valencia, Spain
·         Mette Gaarde, Louisiana State University, USA
·         Jean-Jacques Greffet, Institut d’Optique, France
·         Sarath D. Gunapala, NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory, USA
·         Richard Hammond, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, USA
·         Aaron R. Hawkins, Brigham Young University, USA
·         L. Michael Hayden, University of Maryland Baltimore County, USA
·         John Charles Howell, University of Rochester, USA
·         Jeffrey H. Hunt, The Boeing Company, USA
·         Clemens F. Kaminski, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
·         Inuk Kang, LGS Innovations, LLC, USA
·         Kazuro Kikuchi, University of Tokyo, Japan
·         Hiroo Kinoshita, University of Hyogo, Japan
·         Keisuke Kojima, Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories, USA
·         Junichiro Kono, Rice University, USA
·         Todd D. Krauss, University of Rochester, USA
·         Sophie  La Rochelle, Université Laval, Canada
·         Sang Bae Lee, Korea Institute of Science & Technology, Korea
·         Ruxin Li, Shanghai Institute of Optics and Fine Mechanics, China
·         Marko Lončar, Harvard University, USA
·         Hans-Peter Loock, Queen’s University, Canada
·         Qingming Luo, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China
·         Alexander I. Lvovsky, University of Calgary, Canada
·         Dan M. Marom, Hebrew University, Israel
·         R. J. Dwayne Miller, Max Planck Institute for the Structure and Dynamics of Matter, Germany
·         Juan Carlos Miñano, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain
·         Kaoru Minoshima, The University of Electro-Communications, Japan
·         Tanya Monro, University of South Australia, Australia
·         Allard P. Mosk, University of Twente, The Netherlands
·         William J. Munro, NTT Basic Research Labs, Japan
·         Moshe Nazarathy, Technion, Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
·         Franco Nori, RIKEN, Japan and University of Michigan, USA
·         Malini Olivo, Singapore Biomimaging Consortium, Singapore
·         Michael S. Patterson, McMaster University, Canada
·         Thomas Pertsch, Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Germany
·         Ulf Peschel, Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Germany
·         Viktor A. Podolskiy, University of Massachusetts Lowell, USA
·         Gabriel Popescu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
·         Rajeev Jagga Ram, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
·         Yunjiang Rao, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China, China
·         David Howard Reitze, California Institute of Technology, USA
·         Roland Ryf, Bell Labs, Alcatel-Lucent, USA
·         Brian Matthew Salzberg, University of Pennsylvania, USA
·         Vahid Sandoghdar, Max Planck Institute for the Science of Light, Germany
·         Norbert F. Scherer, University of Chicago, USA
·         Konstantin V. Sokolov, University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center, USA
·         Regina Soufli, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA
·         Jun Tanida, Osaka University, Japan
·         Limin Tong, Zhejiang University, China
·         Michael Vasilyev, University of Texas at Arlington, USA
·         Guillaume Georges Vienne, Data Storage Institute, A*Star, Singapore, and Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
·         Yongtian Wang, Beijing Institute of Technology, China
·         Michael Withford, Macquarie University, Australia
·         Maciej Wojtkowski, Institute of Physics at Nicolaus Copernicus University, Poland
·         Chongjin Xie, Alibaba Group, USA
·         Changhuei Yang, California Institute of Technology, USA
·         Xiaotian Steve Yao, General Photonics Corporation, USA  
·         Michalis N. Zervas, University of Southampton, UK
·         Weili Zhang, Oklahoma State University, USA
·         Xiang Zhou, Google Inc., USA
About OSA
Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional society for scientists, engineers, students and business leaders who fuel discoveries, shape real-world applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership programs, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of professionals in optics and photonics. For more information, visit