Skip To Content

22 April 2019

The Optical Society Names 17 Recipients for 2019 OSA Awards

23 April 2019

The Optical Society Names 17 Recipients for 2019 OSA Awards

OSA honors outstanding contributions to optics and photonics

WASHINGTON—The Optical Society (OSA) is pleased to announce 17 recipients of 2019 OSA awards and medals. Throughout the year, OSA will bestow a total of 22 awards honoring distinguished achievements.

The recipients are:

Rick Trebino, Georgia Institute of Technology, U.S.A., Esther Hoffman Beller Medal;

Govind P. Agrawal, University of Rochester, U.S.A., Max Born Award;

Valery Tuchin, Saratov State University, Russia, Michael S. Feld Biophotonics Award;

Juergen Czarske, TU Dresden, Germany, Joseph Fraunhofer Award/Robert M. Burley Prize;

Fumio Koyama, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan, Nick Holonyak Jr. Award;

Allister I. Ferguson, University of Strathclyde, U.K., Robert E. Hopkins Leadership Award;

Nabeel Agha Riza, University College Cork, Ireland, Edwin H. Land Medal;

Wolfgang Osten, Universität Stuttgart, Germany, Emmett N. Leith Medal;

Ji-Xin Cheng, Boston University, U.S.A., Ellis R. Lippincott Award (co-sponsored with the Coblentz Society and the Society for Applied Spectroscopy);

Laura Na Liu, University of Heidelberg, Germany, Adolph Lomb Medal;

Bahram Javidi, University of Connecticut, U.S.A., C.E.K. Mees Medal;

Michael D. Morse, University of Utah, U.S.A., William F. Meggers Award;

Fred Leonberger, EOvation Advisors LLC, U.S.A., David Richardson Medal;

Kyle Henry Fuerschbach, Sandia National Laboratories, U.S.A., Kevin P. Thompson Optical Design Innovator Award;

Pablo Artal, Universidad de Murcia, Spain, Edgar D. Tillyer Award;

Alexander Gaeta, Columbia University, U.S.A., Charles Hard Townes Award;

Jian-Wei Pan, University of Science and Technology of China, R. W. Wood Prize.

These award and medal winners join an esteemed group of past recipients recognized for their outstanding contributions to the field. More information about the OSA awards program is available at

“On behalf of all members of The Optical Society, I would like to congratulate each 2019 OSA Award winner,” said 2019 OSA President Ursula Gibson. “And I would also like to thank each colleague who contributed by nominating award candidates, providing references or serving on an award selection committee. Your service is valued and appreciated—we simply could not conduct this prestigious award program without your extraordinary help.”

About The Optical Society

Founded in 1916, The Optical Society (OSA) is the leading professional organization for scientists, engineers, students and entrepreneurs who fuel discoveries, shape real-life applications and accelerate achievements in the science of light. Through world-renowned publications, meetings and membership initiatives, OSA provides quality research, inspired interactions and dedicated resources for its extensive global network of optics and photonics experts. For more information, visit

Media Contact:


Image for keeping the session alive