Laser Congress

03 October 2021 – 07 October 2021
Optica Virtual Event - Eastern Daylight/Summer Time (UTC - 04:00)

Congratulations to the Student Paper Award Winners!

The Laser Congress recognizes the next generation of scientists through a student presentation competition. To qualify for an award, the paper must have been presented by an undergraduate or graduate student of an educational institution of collegiate grade.

The Optica Foundation Student Paper Competition

The papers submitted to the competition were reviewed during the standard Technical Program Committee (TPC) review process and 4 finalists were selected. After the papers are presented at the conference, the Program Committee members will make their selections based on content quality, value to the technical community of interest, and the students' presentation skills.

Materials Winner

Felix Mauerhoff, Leibniz-Institut für Kristallzüchtung (IKZ), Germany
Thursday, 07 October, 07:45 - 08:00 (EDT, UTC-04:00); Laser Cooling of Yb-Doped CaF2 and SrF2 Crystals

Materials Runner-up

Liza Basyrova, Université de Caen Normandie, France
Tuesday, 05 October, 07:00 - 07:15 (EDT, UTC-04:00); Power Scaling and Thermal Lensing in ~2.8 µm Er:CaF2 Lasers: Effect of the Pump Wavelength


Sources Winner

Julian Fischer, Time and Frequency Laboratory (LTF), Switzerland
Wednesday, 06 October, 09:30 - 09:45 (EDT, UTC-04:00); Powerful Sub-40-fs Yb:YAG Thin-Disk Laser Oscillator Operating in the Regime of Strong Self-Phase Modulation

Sources Runner-up

Duo Jin, Hebei University of Technology, China
Wednesday, 06 October, 12:30 - 12:45 (EDT, UTC-04:00); 20.3 W Brillouin Lasing in Diamond


Sponsored by: 


IPG Photonics Sponsored Student Paper Competition

IPG Photonics is pleased to support the student paper competition with cash awards for the winners.

Presentation Winners:

Felix Mauerhoff, Leibniz-Institut für Kristallzüchtung (IKZ), Germany, Laser Cooling of Yb-Doped CaF2 and SrF2 Crystals

Pia Fürtjes, Max Born Insitute, Germany, Soliton Self-Frequency Shifted Signal Generation in a Cr:ZnS Based Tunable Sub-100 fs MWIR OPCPA

Poster Winners:

Neeraj Prakash, University of Colorado, Boulder, USA, Revealing the Relative Timing Jitter in Dual-Comb Laser Using Dispersive Fourier Transform

Shova Subedi, University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA, Spectroscopic and Laser Characterization of Color Centers in LiF Over More Than 20 Years Storage at Room Temperature

Sponsored by: