High-Brightness Sources and Light-Driven Interactions Congress


Submission Deadline: 21 Dec 2021 12:00
Submit a Paper Now

Sign up for meeting updates.
Stay Informed

High-Intensity Lasers and High-Field Phenomena (HILAS)

Addresses all aspects of strong field phenomena from the technology of high-intensity light sources to the physics of intense light-matter interaction.

HILAS aims to assemble a multidisciplinary community to present and exchange novel ideas and breakthrough achievements relating to the physics and technology of high field sources, and high-intensity laser-matter interaction.

The meeting covers both theoretical and experimental aspects of strong-field phenomena. The latest research results in terawatt/petawatt lasers, amplification of few-cycle pulses, laser fusion technologies, EUV and X-Ray sources based on lasers, high-intensity sources from the THz up to the X-Ray spectral range, plasmas in ultrahigh fields, advances in attosecond science and relativistic nonlinear phenomena are among the topics to be discussed. 


1. Novel laser technology and methods for pushing high average power laser frontiers

2. Laser characterization methods and analysis algorithms

3. Target technology and diagnostics for high repetition rates

4. New data mining and analyses approaches for target physics understanding (such as Machine Learning, AI, etc.)

5. Intense laser-matter interaction from THz to gamma-beams, laser driven secondary sources and their applications (e.g. EUV, pulsed X-Ray, particle beams, etc.)

6. High-field re-scattering physics, relativistic nonlinear phenomena, intense pulse propagation and filamentation

7. Strong field laser science and experiments, QED at extreme intensities

8. High harmonic generation and attosecond science

9. Commercial applications driven by high intensity or high field laser developments

10. Theoretical advances in high-field physics and laser-plasma interaction



Constantin Haefner

Fraunhofer-Institut für Lasertechnik, Germany

Giuseppe Sansone

Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, Germany

Thomas Metzger

TRUMPF Laser GmbH + Co KG, Germany
Program Chair

Emily Sistrunk Link

Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, United States
Program Chair

Committee Members

  • Constantin Haefner, Fraunhofer-Institut für Lasertechnik, GermanyChair
  • Giuseppe Sansone, Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg, GermanyChair
  • Thomas Metzger, TRUMPF Laser GmbH + Co KG, GermanyProgram Chair
  • Emily Sistrunk Link, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, United StatesProgram Chair
  • Jake Bromage, University of Rochester, United States
  • Laura Cattaneo, Max-Planck-Institut fur Kernphysik, Germany
  • James Cryan, SLAC National Accelerator Laboratory, United States
  • Louis DiMauro, The Ohio State University, United States
  • Peter Dombi, Wigner Research Centre for Physics, Hungary
  • Kenichi Ishikawa, University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Jiro Itatani, Institute for Solid State Physics-Japan, Japan
  • Subhendu Kahaly, Extreme Light Infrastructure, ALPS, Hungary
  • Leily Kiani, Lawrence Livermore National Lab, United States
  • Hyung Taek Kim, Advanced Photonics Research Institute, Republic Of Korea
  • Jens Limpert, Friedrich-Schiller-Universität Jena, Germany
  • Weiwei Liu, Nankai University, China
  • Rodrigo Lopez-Martens, Laboratoire d'Optique Appliquée, France
  • Tammy Ma, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, United States
  • Andreas Maier, DESY, Germany
  • Luis Roso, Centro de Laseres Pulsados, Spain
  • Daniela Rupp, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
  • Clara Saraceno, Ruhr Universität Bochum, Germany
  • Jörg Schreiber, Ludwig-Maximillians-Universität Munchen, Germany
  • Carl Schroeder, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, United States
  • Christophe Simon-Boisson, Thales LAS France , France
  • Emma Springate, STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, United Kingdom
  • Eiji Takahashi, RIKEN, Japan
  • Alexander Thomas, University of Michigan
  • Laszlo Veisz, Umea University, Sweden
  • Caterina Vozzi, CNR-IFN, Italy


Optica - Advancing optics and Photonics Worldwide