Advanced Photonics Congress

24 July 2022 – 28 July 2022

Image Credit: Elizabeth Hillman, Columbia University


Submission Deadline: 22 Mar 2022 12:00
Submit a Paper Now

Sign up for meeting updates.
Stay Informed

Optical Devices and Materials for Solar Energy (PVLED)

Brings together leading international experts in optical sciences and technology for solar energy devices and solid-state lighting.

The meeting covers the latest developments in optics, photonics and advanced materials for the next generation of photovoltaic (PV) solar cells and light emitting diodes (LEDs). This includes all aspects of novel optical materials, nanostructures and devices; ranging from surface coatings, textures and diffraction gratings to topics such as plasmonics, nanowires, quantum dots for application in solar cells and LEDs - both conventional and emerging types alike. It also explores the range of optical elements for collecting, guiding, concentrating, coupling, trapping, transforming and absorbing sunlight – particularly for concentrating solar power (CSP). As optical components typically constitute the largest fraction of cost of such systems, the scope includes research devoted to improving all optical aspects of solar systems to enhance the performance, such as reducing levelized costs and maximizing long-term reliability.

Attendees will be presented with overarching topics such as the techno-economic analysis of the impact of optics on photovoltaic and solid-state lighting systems. The aim is to bring together solar energy researchers with LED researchers and connect them with the broader global optical research community to identify and promote synergies.

Topic Categories


Klaus Jaeger

Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, Germany

Rebecca Saive

Universiteit Twente, Netherlands

Noel Giebink

Pennsylvania State University, United States
Program Chair

Hairen Tan

Nanjing University, China
Program Chair

Committee Members

  • Klaus Jaeger, Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, GermanyChair
  • Rebecca Saive, Universiteit Twente, NetherlandsChair
  • Noel Giebink, Pennsylvania State University, United StatesProgram Chair
  • Hairen Tan, Nanjing University, ChinaProgram Chair
  • Esther Alarcon-Llado, AMOLF, Netherlands
  • Benedikt Bläsi, Fraunhofer Inst Solare Energie Systeme, Germany
  • Thomas Cooper, York University, Canada
  • Dorukalp Durmus, Pennsuylvania State University, United States
  • Paul Fassl, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany
  • Feng Gao, Linköpings universitet
  • Malte Gather, Cologne University, United Kingdom
  • Ivan Gordon, Interuniversity Microelectronics Center, Belgium
  • Nikhil Deep Gupta, Visvesvaraya National Institute of Tech., India
  • Jung-Yong Lee, Korea Advanced Inst of Science & Tech, Republic Of Korea
  • Jimmy Melskens, TNO, Netherlands
  • Rudi Santbergen, Technische Universiteit Delft, Netherlands
  • Mirjam Theelen, TNO, Netherlands
  • Susanna Thon, Johns Hopkins University, United States
  • Sjoerd Veenstra, TNO, Netherlands
  • Benjamin Yang, Georgia Tech Research Institute, United States
  • Jing Zhang, Rochester Institute of Technology, United States
  • Baodan Zhao, Zhejiang University, China
  • Dewei Zhao, Sichuan University



Optica - Advancing optics and Photonics Worldwide

Corporate Sponsor

American Elements



AIM Photonics

The Opticial Society (OSA)