The Optical Society Names Pierre Chavel the 2021 Robert E. Hopkins Leadership Award Recipient


The Optical Society is pleased to announce that Pierre Chavel, Institut d'Optique, France, has been selected as the 2021 recipient of the Robert E. Hopkins Leadership Award. Chavel is honored for outstanding support and promotion of optics throughout Europe, and exceptional leadership in institutions and scientific societies such as OSA, SPIE, ICO, EOS, and SFO.

Pierre Chavel graduated from the Université Paris-Sud, Orsay, France, with a docteur es sciences in physics in 1979. Since 1972, he has been a research scientist at the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), and is the director of Laboratoire Charles Fabry, a joint research facility of CNRS and Institut d'Optique.

Chavel’s contribution to optics stems from his exceptional record of service. It is due to his efforts that the Société Française d’Optique (SFO) was founded in 1983 and subsequently developed under his term as secretary and treasurer. He also contributed to the development of the European Optical Society (EOS), and was one of its first members. Further, he served 12 years as Secretary General of the International Commission for Optics (ICO). Under his guidance, the number of member countries grew from 38 to 51. Chavel has been active in OSA serving in many volunteer roles including on the OSA Board of Directors, OSA Foundation Board, Strategic Planning Council, Public Policy Council, and more.

Chavel is a Fellow of OSA, SPIE, and European Optical Society. In 2004, he received the Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur. In addition to his years of service to the field, he is an established researcher. His publications include over 120 articles in refereed journals, 12 patents, and he has edited or co-edited several books.

Established in 1997 to help strengthen the link between the optics community and the public, the Hopkins Leadership Award recognizes an individual or group who has had a significant impact on the global optics and photonics community or on society as a whole stemming from non-research oriented activities. The award was named in honor of Robert E. Hopkins in 2012, and is endowed by Milton Chang and New Focus.